The Railroad Commission of Texas (RRC) dataset contains hundreds of spatial layers relating to the oil and gas industry. Themes, which are available for the entire state, include:
Downloading RRC Data
To obtain the RRC Dataset, please contact the Map & GIS Library at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Extracting the Data
The data files are compressed into folders with ".tar.gz" extensions. For example, FILENAME.tar.gz.
To extract the files:
The dataset comes with three user manuals created by the Railroad Commission of Texas:
Please email the Map & GIS Library with any questions you may have regarding the RRC Dataset: email@example.com.
Elevation (DEMS, LiDAR, Topography, etc.)
ESA Satellite Images
Created by the European Space Agency (ESA), offers satellite imagery from around the world in the highest resolution available as TIFF and JPEG images. The gallery contains images used throughout the ESA Portal; most of them have been released publicly from ESA. You may use ESA images for educational or informational purposes.
National Map (USGS)
High-quality, geospatial data and information from the USGS as well as other federal, state, and local partners. It includes orthoimagery, elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. It offers several interactive viewers:
USGS Global Visualization Viewer (GloVis)
Online search and order tool for selected satellite and aerial data from EROS holdings. It allows browsing of images within USGS' inventory. A download interface is provided for free datasets.
USGS LandsatLook Viewer
Real-time images from Landsat satellites. It displays the images in the 5, 4, 3 (Red, Green, Blue) band combination for both the TM and ETM+ sensors at resolution of 30 meters.
Gobal digital elevation models (DEM) with a horizontal grid spacing of 30 arc seconds (approximately 1 kilometer)
USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS)
One of the largest collections of Earth imagery: satellite images and data, aerial photography, elevation and land cover, digitized maps,and more.
USGS 15" Topo Index
It lists sources for digital historic 15" topos for the US, created by Illinois State Library's Map Librarian.
USGS 7.5" Topo Index
It lists sources for digital historic 7.5" topos for the US, created by Illinois State Library's Map Librarian.
SGS 7.5" Topo Maps in KMZ
Over 50,000 7.5-minute USGS topographic maps to view in Google Earth, created by Google Earth Library.
Free aerial photos of the Texas Coast.
The Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth
Over 60,000 astronaut photographs from 1961 through the present. A clickable map, mission-roll-frame search, and technical search are provided to find photos. Downloadable KML files for use in Google Earth are available.
Official Portal of Texas GIS Resources.
Railroad Commission of Texas' viewer for oil, gas, and pipeline data. It links to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department GIS Lab, which offers downloadable data in arc interchange and shapefile format, and a PDF map gallery. It directs to the Texas Water Development Board GIS Data, which offers maps, GIS data and interactive maps; TNRIS and StartMap GIS Data; and the Texas Commission of Environmental Quality GIS portal.
General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO)
Global bathymetric data, echo-sounding data; GEBCO Digital Atlas (GDA): global digital bathymetric contours, coastlines, trackline control data, and global one arc-minute bathymetric grid (GEBCO One Minute Grid).
Satellite Geodesy (UC San Diego)
Bathymetry and radar altimetry.
Gulf of Mexico Coastal Ocean Observing System (GOOS)
Bathymetry and shorelines.
Composes the National Coastal Asseessment Framework (CAF), providing NOAA's GIS data of counties, states, boundaries, watersheds, shorelines, etc.
Global self-consistent, hierarchical, high-resolution shoreline database.
Shoreline Data Explorer (NOAA)
Shoreline data of the U.S. and adjacent islands.
NOAA Shoreline Website
Global, national, and local scale shoreline data; Shoreline change analysis, nautical chart production, cartographic representation, and boundary determination.
NGDC 3 Arc-Second Coastal Relief Model
U.S. coastal zone with view of the seafloor.
TAMU's Texas Coastal Communities Atlas
Boundaries, policy data (coastal management zones and building code), transportation, census, rainfall, topography, ecological, hydrology, protected areas, recreation areas, development (property values, populated places, damns, and wetlands permits), natural hazards, coastal development, and offshore risk data. Some open access layers are available to download as shapefiles.
NOAA Office of the Coast Survey
Local, regional, and global nautical charts and tools.
NOAA Electronic Navigational Charts (ENC)
Electronic navigational charts, digital hydrographic data, historical charts, and U.S. maritime zones.
NOAA Nautical Charts
Paper and electronic charts.
Local Cities and Counties
Cities in Texas
NOAA's National Hurricane Center
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)'s National Hurricane Center provides interactive maps and data downloads for the weather conditions related to Hurricane Harvey.
Image Collection on Space.com
Remotely sensed images of Harvey from space.
Emergency Response Data
Harvey Open Data
Homeland Infrastructure Foundation-Level Data (HIFLD) includes data layers of emergency services, hazards and incidents, community lifelines, community resources, vulnerable population infrastructure, transportation, imagery, base and population data, US National Grid maps, and additional tools.
City of Houston
Coastal Communities Planning Atlas
Developed by the Texas Sustainable Coastal Initiative, the atlas provides layers of hazards, policies, administrative boundaries, transportation, roadways, historical tropical storm winds, annualized tropical storm loss, landscape features, and more
Historical Hurricane Data
National Hurricane Center Data
The NHC provides historical hurricane data beginning in 2008.
National Hurricane Center Data Archive
The NHC Data Archive provides cyclone data beginning in 1958.
Historical track data, including: coordinates, sustained winds, and central pressure. Satellite images, surface, upper air, and radar data are also available.
Weather Underground Hurricane and Tropical Cyclone Data
Number of storms and hurricanes per year, related deaths, damage (millions USD) and retired hurricane names beginning in 1851.
Data.gov Hurricane Data Portal
Open data and tools provided by the government, including data related to agriculture, safety, climate, oceans, ecosystems, energy, and more.
NOAA's Historical Hurricane Tracks - GIS Map Viewer
Interactive maps and data downloads for over 6000 cyclones over the last 150 years. Data tools and dashboards are also available.