Skip to main content

Research Guides

AERO 401 - Aerospace Vehicle Design (Spring 2017)

Howdy!

Welcome to the library class guide for AERO 401. the purpose of this guide is to help you find reliable, relevant, credible information for your class project. For additional help, contact your the aerospace engineering librarian:

Jane Stephens

Science & Engineering Librarian - Liaison to Aerospace Engineering

Evans room 111E (feel free to stop by)

979-845-5382 (voice mail) - or - jstephens@tamu.edu

Find books - handbooks, books on design, other reference books, ...

The links below will take you to the full text of an e-book, or to a list of LibCat records for the editions owned by the Libraries. 

  • The library owns multiple editions of some of these books - resort the list to more easily find the newest edition.

For e-book editions, click on the "internet access" link in the record to access the full text.

For print editions - when you click on the title below:

  • Use the location and call number to locate the edition you want.
  • Note Status (availability to determine if it is available for check-out..
  • NOTE: newest editions might be located in library other than Evans, AND/OR in Course Reserves.

 

Search the Libraries' catalog to find:

  1. A specific book or textbook
    1. Limit "choose a search type to: "title keyword", or "title starts with"
  2. Books on a topic
    1. Start out with a keyword search, but notice the "subject headings"
    2. Limit "choose search type" to: "subject keyword"
  3. A particular type of book, such as a handbook, computer manual, book on MATLAB ...

Search across the full text of one of the engineering eBook databases - Note each book owned by the Libraries is also listed in LibCat.

NOTE: The Knovel ebook database (see link below) includes ~73 books published by AIAA.

In the following databases LIMIT your search to book chapter. NOTE: These databases do NOT contain the full text of books. to find the book, look up the book title in LibCat, or contact Jane Stephens (your librarian) for help.

 

Multi-disciplinary eBook databases - books access through these databases are also listed in LibCat, the main catalog - and/or Medical Sciences Library's Catalog

Loading

Data & Materials

Find Journal Articles & conference Papers

To do a comprehensive literature review for a thesis, dissertation, research project, capstone/design class, search the following bibliographic (citation) databases:

  • No full text is available in these databases
  • Use the "find text @TAMU" button for document (article, paper, etc.) options
    • follow links to full text, OR
    • if still no FT is available, click on  Get It For Me - they will scan the article, paper, book chapter (<50 pages) free of charge.

 

NOTE: journal articles and conference papers provided by the publisher and societies listed below, are also indexed in bibliographic (citation) databases such as Compendex, INSPEC, Web of Science, etc.)

Loading

Technical Reports & Gray Literature

To find a specific technical report, start by searching its title on Google - if you cannot access the full text, request it through Get It For Me, or contact your librarian for help.

Use the following databases to:

  • Find a specific report
  • Find reports on a topic