History

Accessible Archives provides electronic access to 18th and 19th century U. S. county histories, magazines, and newspapers, including some rare black newspapers. This online database is full-text searchable. It also provides access to some digitized images.

Black Studies Center brings together scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.
Alternate titles: BSC
Published by: ProQuest

Black Thought and Culture contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Alternate titles: BLTC
Published by: Alexander Street Press

Provides access to over 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents from libraries and archives around the world. Explore colonial history, politics, culture and society relating to the story of Empire from the American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Includes thematic essays by leading scholars with hyperlinks to the documentary evidence. Five thematic sections concentrate on Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969 (Section I); Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire (Section II); The Visible Empire (Section III); Religion & Empire (Section IV); and Race, Class, Imperialism & Colonialism, c.1607-1969 (Section V).
Published by: Adam Matthew Digital

This growing collection offers insight into the colonial history of North America and the West Indies. It includes the National Archives collection CO 1-- papers that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade during 1574-1757. More than 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 45,000 bibliographic records give fascinating insight into British trade, history and overseas expansion between the 16th and 18th centuries.
Published by: ProQuest