Research Guides: Nutrition and Food Science: Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)

Evidence-based practice is an integrative approach to health care. It combines clinical expertise, the best scientific evidence available, and a patients' values to make clinical decisions about individual patient care.

Clinical Expertise	Best Scientific Evidence	Patient Values
Education	Relevant	Patient characteristics
Skills	Current	Patient circumstances
Years of experience	Sound methodology	Patient preferences

EBP Databases & Resources

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library (EAL)
The Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) is a synthesis of the best, most relevant nutritional research on important dietetic practice questions housed within an accessible, online, user-friendly website. Active members of the Academy receive free access to the EAL.
USDA’s Nutrition Evidence Systematic Review (NESR)
USDA’s Nutrition Evidence Systematic Review (NESR), formerly the Nutrition Evidence Library (NEL), is a team of scientists from USDA’s Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) who specialize in conducting food- and nutrition-related systematic reviews.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Provides citations for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is a publicly available database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. Updated weekly with new content, the NGC provides physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews and meta-analysis of findings in the medical literature to supporting evidence-based practice in health care.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.