Skip to main content

Research Guides

GIS Data Sources

American FactFinder
American FactFinder is the primary tool to access data published by the Census Bureau. AFF allows you to access data from many Census Bureau sources: 2010 and 2000 Decennial Censuses, the Economic Censuses and the American Community Survey (ACS) for federal, state, county and local data levels. 
Published by: United States Census Bureau

Downloadable demographic spreadsheets.

China 2010 County Population Census Data with GIS Maps
**Note: This link will connect you to a zip file which contains the data. Documentation for using the data is included.**

Includes about 178 comparable variables from 2000 and 2010 population Census data for all counties and urban districts of Mainland China. The GIS map layers include: (1) 2000 and 2010 county map with population Census data variables from short form tables (1:100 million); (2) Highway; (3) National Road; (4) Provincial Trunk Road; (5) Railways; (6) Rivers; and (7) Coast lines.
Published by: China Data Center, University of Michigan

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
**Note: This link will connect you to a zip file which contains the data. Documentation for using the data is included. This resource is limited to one simultaneous user.**

The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive offers annual data for a range of countries from 1815 to the present.
Alternate titles: CNTS ; Banks' Cross-national time-series data archive
Published by: Databanks International

Data-Planet Statistical DataSets
Data-Planet Statistical DataSets provides access to 1.5 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface. Scan the contents of over 530 datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. Access to extensive and current data in 20-, 30-, even 100-year time series.Downloadable statistical data for a wide variety of subjects.
Alternate titles: Conquest Statistical Datasets
Published by: ProQuest

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference provides simple searching of a huge repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Alternate titles: Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Published by: Conquest Systems, In

Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF)
This DOTS Online service provides data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. The database includes: total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group level of data for the most recent six quarters and the latest year for 169 countries, and ten quarters and five years for the world and area tables.
Alternate titles: DTS
Published by: International Monetary Fund

FAOSTAT
FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 3 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Producer Prices,Forestry Trade Flow, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Codex Alimentarius Food Quality Control, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Agricultural Machinery, Food Aid Shipments, Exports by Destination.
Alternate titles: FAO Stat
Published by: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

FRED - Economic data
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
Alternate titles: Federal Reserve Economic Data
Published by: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

General Social Survey
The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor societal change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations.
Downloadable data for use with statistical software packages.
Alternate titles: GSS
Published by: National Data Program for the Sciences

Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data
GHO is the World Health Organization’s main health statistics repository. It contains an extensive list of health indicators, multi-dimensional query functionality, and a world map gallery displaying important health themes.
Published by: World Health Organization

Government Finance Statistics (IMF)
The IMF Government Finance Statistics contains statistical data on government financial operations for 145 IMF member countries. Where reported, the database contains time series from 1990 onwards using the Government Finance Statistics Manual, 2001 (GFSM 2001) framework. The statistics, issued quarterly, are updated as new data are received and time series become available. These time series present combined statistics on revenue, expenses, transactions in nonfinancial assets and financial assets and liabilities as well as for stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors.
Alternate titles: GFS
Published by: International Monetary Fund

International Financial Statistics (IMF)
This is considered a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Alternate titles: IFS
Published by: International Monetary Fund

International Trade Statistics
World Trade Organization (WTO) site that provides statistics on tariff and trade in merchandise and commercial services for an assessment of world trade flows by country, region, and main product groups or services by category.
Published by: World Trade Organization

Key Business Ratios
Provides competitive benchmarking data from Dun & Bradstreet's database and key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios).
Alternate titles: KBR ; 
Published by: Mergent, Inc.

LAPOP (Latin American Public Opinion Project) data sets
**This contains raw data meant to be downloaded into a statistical file.**

Includes draft and final questionnaires and results from LAPOP's surveys analyzing public opinions regarding political and social topics in Latin American countries, as well as Jamaica, Madagascar, and the United States. Includes topics such as public perceptions of the role of government , political tolerance, citizen participation, corruption, crime, authoritarianism, and citizen support for democracy. The surveys were conducted in various years from the 1990s to 2007.
Published by: Vanderbilt University

Market Indicators and Forecasts (EIU)
Allows access to key economic and market data for the countries of your choice. CountryData package provides a comprehensive database of macroeconomic indicators and forecasts. Market Indicators and Forecasts package helps you to gauge market size and growth potential for your choice of 60 countries.
Alternate titles: EIU data tool; Economic Intelligence Unit data tool
Published by: Economist Group

Mergent Online
Provides current and historical financial data, links to SEC filings, and several years of annual reports for U.S. companies and non-U.S. companies.
Alternate titles: Mergent's FIS/online; Mergent web reports
Published by: Mergent, Inc.

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 -- some 390 complete databases, 2,500 working papers, 5,500 books, 14,000 tables and graphs, 21,000 chapters and articles. NOTE: we do not have access to the data from International Energy Agency (IEA).
Alternate titles: SourceOECD ; Source OECD
Published by: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Passport
Information on industries (consumer, industrial, service), countries, and consumers (lifestyle, expenditures) from Euromonitor.
Alternate titles: Euromonitor GMID; Euromonitor Global market information database; Passport GMID
Published by: Euromonitor International

Social Explorer
Social Explorer is dedicated to providing easy access to demographic information about the United States.It includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States, including historical data back to 1940.
Published by: Oxford University Press

Statista
Statista is a database that contains international statistics, facts, and market data taken from free and proprietary sources.
Published by: Statista Inc.

Texas Health Data
Texas Health Data is an interactive public data system that allows you to query DSHS public health datasets for statistical reports and summaries.
Published by: Texas Department of State Health Services

The ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives
Strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
Published by: Association of Religion Data Archives

The WomanStats Project
The most comprehensive database on the status of women cross-nationally. Containing over 170,000 data points and growing every day, it covers over 350 variables for 175 nations with populations greater than 200,000 persons.Alternate titles: Woman Stats project
Published by: WomanStats.org

United Nations Statistics Division
The United Nations Statistics Division compiles statistics from international sources and produces global updates including yearbooks in specialized fields of statistics.
Published by: United Nations

USA Trade Online
Trade statistics, including current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for export and import commodities.
Published by: United States Census Bureau

Warc
An online service offering advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands.

World Bank
Provides download access to over 2,000 financial, business, health, economic and human development statistics from World Bank data sources.Alternate titles: World Bank Open DataPublished by: World Bank Group
Published by: Warc Ltd.

Armed Conflict Database​
The Armed Conflict Database is a frequently updated source of information on armed conflicts worldwide.
Alternate titles: ACD
Published by: International Institute For Strategic Studies

International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Researcher's Dataset - Table 3B
**Note: This link will connect you to a zip file which contains the data. Documentation for using the data is included.**

The ICRG Researcher's Dataset - Table 3B provides annual averages of the 12 components of ICRG's Political Risk Ratings (Table 3B), as published in the International Country Risk Guide since 1984. Average ratings are provided for all countries covered by ICRG from 1984 through the last full calendar year.
Alternate titles: International country risk guide (ICRG) researcher's dataset Table 3B
Published by: The PRS Group, Inc.                                                            

International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Researcher's Dataset - Table 3Ba
**Note: This link will connect you to a zip file which contains the data. Documentation for using the data is included.**

The ICRG Researcher's Dataset - Table 3B provides Political Risk Points by Subcomponent.
Published by: The PRS Group, Inc.

ITERATE Dataset
**Note: This link will connect you to a zip file which contains the data.**

The ITERATE dataset is a particularly valuable research tool for dissecting the dynamics of international terrorism. Each of its four files can be used separately, or in conjunction with one another. Incident codes for each event enable immediate cross reference, with data from the Fate, Hostage and Skyjack Files, expanding incident information found in the Common File. This dataset is designed with a high degree of functionality so that it is compatible for use with other non-terrorism related data.
Alternate titles: ITERATE numeric database and codebooks
Published by: Vinyard Software, Inc.

Mills Online - MoL2013Q3 MasterFile
This is the master MoL file which includes all the mill information we have currently collected on the U.S. pulp and paper mills. The data include mill, parent names, ownership and operating status updated as of the latest quarter of 2013. Product capacity data are from Lockwood 2011. In addition, the file lists the county, state, city and longitude and latitude for each mill and address, phone and fax numbers for operating mills.
Published by: Georgia Institute of Technology

Mintel Market Sizes
Contains market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.
Alternate titles: Mintel Global Market Navigator ; GMN
Published by: Mintel Group Ltd.

NOAA National Climatic Data Center
NCDC is an active archive for climate data and information. It focuses primarily on the United States but does include world data. NCDC operates the World Data Center for Meteorology which is co-located at NCDC in Asheville, North Carolina, and the World Data Center for Paleoclimatology which is located in Boulder, Colorado.
Published by: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Published by: Pew Research Center

Polling the Nations
This international numerical, statistical database is searchable by topic, country and polling agencies.
Published by: ORS Publishing Inc.

ReferenceUSA
A directory database of U.S. businesses. Searches include company name, business size, corporate linkages, SIC / NAICS, and geographic information.
Alternate titles: Reference USA
Published by: Infogroup

SimplyAnalytics
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: SimplyMap, Simply Map
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that can be used to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 100,000+ data variables.Although students & faculty are not required to log in with a username and password, it is recommended if they wish to save their work.
Access is limited to 15 concurrent users.
Alternate titles: Simply Map, SimplyMap
Published by: Geographic Research, Inc

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of cities and towns which were created to assist fire insurance companies assess risk. The maps show structural details and include street naming and numbering used at the time the map was made. The library's collection includes maps from Texas cities and towns spanning the 19th to mid-20th century.
Published by: ProQuest​

Uniworld Directories
Provides online access to firms' information in various countries.American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries - this directory lists wholly or partially owned subsidiaries, affiliates or branches of American companies with substantial investments in overseas operations. Results include locations and in many cases contacts, ownership and type of business operation, which are viewable and downloadable to Excel.Foreign Firms Operating in the United States - this directory lists wholly or partially owned subsidiaries, affiliates or branches of foreign companies with substantial investments in the United States. Results include locations and in many cases contacts, ownership and type of business operation, which are viewable and downloadable to Excel.
Published by: Uniworld Business Publications, Inc.

Warc
An online service offering advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands.

World Development Indicators
The International Bank for Reconstruction and Development/The World Bank provides over 500 indicators of economic development in terms of people, the environment, the economy and the world markets. Data spans 40 years and covers 208 countries.
Alternate titles: WDI
Published by: World Bank Group

Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF)
This DOTS Online service provides data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. The database includes: total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group level of data for the most recent six quarters and the latest year for 169 countries, and ten quarters and five years for the world and area tables.
Alternate titles: DTS
Published by: International Monetary Fund

FRED - Economic data
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
Alternate titles: Federal Reserve Economic Data
Published by: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Government Finance Statistics (IMF)
The IMF Government Finance Statistics contains statistical data on government financial operations for 145 IMF member countries. Where reported, the database contains time series from 1990 onwards using the Government Finance Statistics Manual, 2001 (GFSM 2001) framework. The statistics, issued quarterly, are updated as new data are received and time series become available. These time series present combined statistics on revenue, expenses, transactions in nonfinancial assets and financial assets and liabilities as well as for stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors.
Alternate titles: GFS
Published by: International Monetary Fund

International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Researcher's Dataset - Table 3B
**Note: This link will connect you to a zip file which contains the data. Documentation for using the data is included.**

The ICRG Researcher's Dataset - Table 3B provides annual averages of the 12 components of ICRG's Political Risk Ratings (Table 3B), as published in the International Country Risk Guide since 1984. Average ratings are provided for all countries covered by ICRG from 1984 through the last full calendar year.
Alternate titles: International country risk guide (ICRG) researcher's dataset Table 3B
Published by: The PRS Group, Inc.

International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Researcher's Dataset - Table 3Ba
**Note: This link will connect you to a zip file which contains the data. Documentation for using the data is included.**

The ICRG Researcher's Dataset - Table 3B provides Political Risk Points by Subcomponent.
Published by: The PRS Group, Inc.

International Financial Statistics (IMF)
This is considered a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Alternate titles: IFS
Published by: International Monetary Fund

International Trade Statistics
World Trade Organization (WTO) site that provides statistics on tariff and trade in merchandise and commercial services for an assessment of world trade flows by country, region, and main product groups or services by category.
Published by: World Trade Organization

Key Business Ratios
Provides competitive benchmarking data from Dun & Bradstreet's database and key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios).
Alternate titles: KBR ; 
Published by: Mergent, Inc.

Market Indicators and Forecasts (EIU)
Allows access to key economic and market data for the countries of your choice. CountryData package provides a comprehensive database of macroeconomic indicators and forecasts. Market Indicators and Forecasts package helps you to gauge market size and growth potential for your choice of 60 countries.
Alternate titles: EIU data tool; Economic Intelligence Unit data tool
Published by: Economist Group

Mergent Online
Provides current and historical financial data, links to SEC filings, and several years of annual reports for U.S. companies and non-U.S. companies.
Alternate titles: Mergent's FIS/online; Mergent web reports
Published by: Mergent, Inc.

Mintel Market Sizes
Contains market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.
Alternate titles: Mintel Global Market Navigator ; GMN
Published by: Mintel Group Ltd.

OECD iLibrary 
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 -- some 390 complete databases, 2,500 working papers, 5,500 books, 14,000 tables and graphs, 21,000 chapters and articles. NOTE: we do not have access to the data from International Energy Agency (IEA).
Alternate titles: SourceOECD ; Source OECD
Published by: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Passport 
Information on industries (consumer, industrial, service), countries, and consumers (lifestyle, expenditures) from Euromonitor.
Alternate titles: Euromonitor GMID; Euromonitor Global market information database; Passport GMID
Published by: Euromonitor International

ReferenceUSA
A directory database of U.S. businesses. Searches include company name, business size, corporate linkages, SIC / NAICS, and geographic information.
Alternate titles: Reference USA
Published by: Infogroup

United Nations Statistics Division 
The United Nations Statistics Division compiles statistics from international sources and produces global updates including yearbooks in specialized fields of statistics.
Published by: United Nations

Uniworld Directories 
Provides online access to firms' information in various countries.
American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries - this directory lists wholly or partially owned subsidiaries, affiliates or branches of American companies with substantial investments in overseas operations. Results include locations and in many cases contacts, ownership and type of business operation, which are viewable and downloadable to Excel.
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States - this directory lists wholly or partially owned subsidiaries, affiliates or branches of foreign companies with substantial investments in the United States. Results include locations and in many cases contacts, ownership and type of business operation, which are viewable and downloadable to Excel.
Published by: Uniworld Business Publications, Inc.

USA Trade Online
Trade statistics, including current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for export and import commodities.
Published by: United States Census Bureau

Warc 
An online service offering advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands.

World Bank 
Provides download access to over 2,000 financial, business, health, economic and human development statistics from World Bank data sources.Alternate titles: World Bank Open DataPublished by: World Bank Group
Published by: Warc Ltd.

World Development Indicators
The International Bank for Reconstruction and Development/The World Bank provides over 500 indicators of economic development in terms of people, the environment, the economy and the world markets. Data spans 40 years and covers 208 countries.
Alternate titles: WDI
Published by: World Bank Group

Loading ...