There have been rapid advances in anthropological knowledge on a wide variety of fronts. This volume provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary thinking in biological, social and cultural anthropology. In bringing these three fields together, it establishes their interconnections and lays the foundations for an integrated perspective on the conditions of human life appropriate to the challenges of the future.
Comprising articles written by over forty leading experts from around the world, the first volume covers the period from the origins of humanity to the inventions of writing and the beginnings of food production. Comprehensively examining the emergence of civilization, this is a self-contained reference and crucial part of the 7 volume set.
"In the preface to this new dictionary of archaeology, Dr. Paul Bahn describes his approach to compiling this work as "...an attempt to drag the concept of the archaeological dictionary kicking and screaming into the 1990s."" "And he has done so without losing any of the traditional power of a good dictionary. Endeavoring to pay particular attention to theoretical and technical terms not usually included in similar dictionaries, Dr. Bahn was aided by a contributors' panel of 16 regional experts." "The resulting dictionary of nearly 3,000 entries offers definitions of the archaeological world's most recent terms and theories and covers techniques, sites, and time-honored nomenclature as well. Biographical entries on archaeologists of the past further enhance the scope of the dictionary, giving the reader a sense of the historical development of the discipline." "Readers will also benefit from the abundant cross-references that interconnect related entries and from the line drawings that accompany many of the entries. Forty-seven pages of maps and a list of titles for further reading arranged by topic complete this new research tool and field guide that will capably serve the broad spectrum of the archaeologically interested public."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved