Research Guides: Law: More Texas Legal Research

More Texas Legal Research

Guide to Researching Legislative History and Intent
A step-by-step guide to doing legislative history research on Texas statutes and bills from Texas' Legislative Reference Library.
Gammel's Laws of Texas
H.P.N. Gammel's The Laws of Texas, 1822-1897 charts Texas law from colonization to statehood.
Texas Constitutions
Between the years of 1824 and 1876, Texas was at times a part of the United States of Mexico, an independent republic, and a state within the United States. (From Tarlton Law Library)
State Office of Administrative Hearings
The State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) is an independent agency created to manage contested cases and conduct hearings in those contested cases for other state agencies.

Sabin Americana Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Alternate titles: American history & culture online
Published by: Gale/Cengage Learning, Inc.

Texas Bills 52nd (1951) - 75th (1997) located in Texas Documents Microform - TXD L1700 L514bif (2nd floor Evans)

This includes not only multiple versions of the bills, but also affidavits, bill analysis, fiscal notes, committee report votes, and more.

Texas Secretary of State Lobbying Activities located in Texas Documents Microform - TXD S500.1 T312 (2nd floor Evans)

This collection includes lobbyist reports from 1974-1985, Candidate/Office Holder expenditures and payments 1983-1987 and Political Action Committees 1983-1987.