Finance

Featuring more than 800 entries, the two-volume Encyclopedia of American Business, Revised Edition is an up-to-date, easy-to-use guide to the nuts and bolts of business jargon. Difficult ideas are explained in straightforward language to help non-specialists, students, and general readers understand the complex and sometimes confusing concepts and terms that are used in business. Five general areas of business are covered: accounting, banking, finance, marketing, and management. This encyclopedia focuses on the terms, concepts, and associations that one is most likely to encounter in business, making it a great place to start learning about how businesses operate and what the primary and different features of specific business-related functions or ideas mean.

A comprehensive introductory resource with entries covering the development of money and the functions and dysfunctions of the monetary and financial system: 350 fully updated A-Z entries on the development, functions, and dysfunctions of money, banking, and credit systems, dozens of photographs and illustrations of coinage and paper money from different times and places, and an index offering access to entries by several criteria, including individuals involved and countries affected.

Written by an international team of contributors, this comprehensive reference includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research. Complete with an index and a table of contents that groups entries by topic, The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy is an essential resource for anyone who needs to better understand the global economy.

Designed for the nonspecialist, the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the United States.

This set addresses the full breadth of American business history. There are overviews on different sectors of the economy, such as agriculture and banking; individual industries such as advertising and electronics; and general topics like business cycles.

The factors that led to the 2008 financial collapse, the terms of America's post-crisis recovery, the forces expanding corporate and private wealth, and the growing influence of money in politics--many of Wall Street's contemporary trends can be traced back to the work of fourteen critical figures who wrote, and occasionally broke, the rules of American finance. Edward Morris provides a thorough account of Wall Street's transformation from a clubby enclave of financiers to a symbol of vast economic power. His book begins with J. Pierpont Morgan, who ruled the American banking system at the turn of the twentieth century, and ends with Sandy Weill, whose collapsing Citigroup required the largest taxpayer bailout in history. In between, Wall Streeters relates the ideas and missteps of twelve other financial visionaries, including Charles Merrill, who founded Merrill Lynch and introduced the small investor to the American stock market; Michael Milken, the so-called junk bond king; Jack Bogle, whose index funds redefined the mutual fund business; Myron Scholes, who laid the groundwork for derivative securities; and Benjamin Graham, who wrote the book on securities analysis.

Focuses on the growth and expansion of banking, securities, and insurance from the colonial period right up to the incredible growth of the stock market during the 1990s and the attack on the World Trade Center in 2001.

The story behind the democratization of investing is bound up with some of history's most epic events. It is also a tale rich with lessons for professional and everyday investors who hope to make wiser choices. This entertaining history doubles as a sophisticated account of the opportunities and challenges facing the modern investor. It follows the rise of funded retirement; the evolution of investment vehicles and techniques; investment misdeeds and regulatory reform; government economic policy; the development of investment theory; and the emergence of new investment structures. Norton Reamer and Jesse Downing map these trends and profile the battle between low cost index and exchange-traded funds, on the one hand, and the higher-fee hedge funds and private equity, on the other. By helping us understand this history and its legacy of risk, Reamer and Downing hope to better educate readers about the individual and societal impact of investing and ultimately level the playing field.

The dynamism of today's international economy and the fascinating history of world markets come together in this unprecedented volume. With its accessible text and exciting visuals, In the Market combines historical understanding and contemporary savvy. A chronological narrative explains the origins of market economies in the ancient world, tracing the evolution of markets from the Greek agora and medieval fairs to the first joint stock companies, and detailing the rise of today's commodity and financial markets.

Since the 1960s, scholars and other commentators have frequently announced the imminent decline of American financial power: excessive speculation and debt are believed to have undermined the long-term basis of a stable US-led financial order. But the American financial system has repeatedly shown itself to be more resilient than such assessments suggest. This book argues that there is considerable coherence to American finance: far from being a house of cards, it is a proper edifice, built on institutional foundations with points of both strength and weakness. The book examines these foundations through a historical account of their construction: it shows how institutional transformations in the late nineteenth century created a distinctive infrastructure of financial relations and proceeds to trace the contradiction-ridden expansion of this system during the twentieth century as well as its institutional consolidation during the neoliberal era. It concludes with a discussion of the forces of instability that hit at the start of the twenty-first century.

Ward's now lists more than 112,000 companies, 90% of which are private.

Business Library and Collaboration Commons has volumes of this directory back to 1983.

The five volumes of the International Directory of Company Histories bring together histories of the leading companies of the United States, Canada, the UK, Europe and Japan.

With a record-breaking number of people competing for fewer jobs, The Directory of Executive & Professional Recruiters 2011-2012 is a critical resource for serious job seekers. Published since 1971, and constantly updated, the famous "Red Book" gives you the contact details you need to access thousands of executive and professional recruiters and start networking today.

Copies of the 2014 edition available in Business Library and Collaboration Commons Reference.

Bringing you facts on over 300 of the world's most influential companies based outside the United States, Hoover's Handbook of World Business is one of the most complete sources of in-depth information on large, non-US-based business enterprises available anywhere. This valuable resource contains hard-to-find information on public, private and state-owned enterprises across the world, from Canada and Europe, to Asia and South Africa. Indexes are organized by headquarters location, industry and company executives

When you need information about companies, Hoover's Handbook of American Business is the place to turn for answers. You will find in-depth coverage of 750 of the largest and most influential companies in the United States. Each of these companies profiled here was chosen because of its important role in the American Business.

Business Library and Collaboration Commons Reference section retains only the current issue of this title.