News aggregators collect syndicated news content from around the world. Typically these aggregators provide current news (usually within the last day or week) as well as a backfile reaching into the 20 or 30 years. Aggregators usually provide sophisticated tools for proximity searching, so check the databases help files if you have trouble finding information or narrowing your search.
19th Century Masterfile : Contains core US and UK periodicals and newspapers from 1802-1906.
Accessible Archives : Contains several collections from the 18th-19th centuries including "The Civil War: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective" and "African American Newspapers: the 19th Century."
America's Historical Newspapers : This database reproduces and indexes over 700 U.S. newspapers covering 1690 to 1922, with a special emphasis on Texas and other states west of the Mississippi River.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides full text and images for major US and African American newspapers dating as far back as 1764. All of the ProQuest Newspapers use the same interface and allow for targeted searching using various limiters (e.g., date, section, etc.). Please note: Historical Newspapers may not be searched simultaneously with non-historical papers.
Newspaper aggregators like Lexis Nexis and Factiva contain enormous amounts of information. Because of their size, simple keyword searches often bring back too many results, or many results that are not relevant. To counter this, aggregators often provide users with sophisticated search tools like proximity operators. Proximity operators are operators that allow the searcher to specify the distance between keywords within a document. By using these operators, searchers are able to retrieve more concise and relevant sets of records. Some common operators include:
The exact syntax used for proximity operators often varies by database, so be sure to look at the database's “help” screen for additional information.