Skip to main content

Research Guides

Communication & Journalism

Organizational Communication Resources

Selected Databases

  • ABI/INFORM : database of scholarly and trade articles concerning all aspects of business.
  • Business Source Complete : Full-text database of business popular, trade, and academic journal.
  • Factiva : Financial and business news from over 14,000 periodicals.
  • Lexis-Nexis : Contains global business news and corporate information.

See the TAMU West Campus Library's Business Database Guide

  Selected Journals

Selected Print Reference Sources

Political Communication Resources

Voting Record Information for US House & Senate

  • CQ Voting & Elections Collection : data and analyses about presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial campaigns and elections. Also contains information about political parties, voters, and demographics.
  • Roll Call : "The Newspaper of Capitol Hill Since 1955."

Campaign Finance Information

  • Campaign Finance Institute : "The Campaign Finance Institute is a non-partisan, non-profit institute, affiliated with The George Washington University, that conducts objective research and education, empanels task forces and makes recommendations for policy change in the field of campaign finance."
  • CQ's Political Money Line  : "the leading source of comprehensive, timely and objective campaign finance and lobbying information. Political Moneyline helps you analyze the flow of money through the political system by providing campaign donation and expenditure data from to the 1979-80 election cycle through the most recent filings."
  • Opensecrets.org : Organization that tracks the flow of money in US politics.
  • Foreign Lobbying.org : This project publishes information about foreign organizations that "seek to influence U.S. policy."
  • Federal Election Commission : Government agency
  • House Lobby Disclosure Search 
  • Sunlight Foundation : A non-partisan organization dedicated to transparency in government; contains news, information about projects, and resources surrounding campaign finance policy.

Factchecking Organizations

  • FactCheck.org : Non-partisan organization that investigates claims made in political advertisements and debates.

Accountability Organizations

  • Government Accountability Project : A website dedicated to protecting whistleblowers and making government accountable.
  • Sunlight Foundation :  A non-partisan organization dedicated to transparency in government; contains news, information about projects, and resources surrounding campaign finance policy.

Government Agencies on Accountability

  • Office of Management and Budget (MBO) : Executive branch agency that provides oversight of agency performance.
  • GAO : The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. 

Election Returns

  • Crystal Ball :  Website gives voting projections and political analysis.

Historical Materials Concerning Political Campaigns and Parties

Finding Articles in Politics

News Sources

For smaller newspapers or historical information try LexisNexis Academic (TAMU Only) or Campus Research (TAMU Only), or see our Newspaper guide for more resources or the Portal for Texas History for Texas specific election and candidate information.

Health Communication Resources

Selected Databases

  • Global Health : covers international health issues
  • Medline : Bibliographic database covering multiple fields of medicine.
  • PsycInfo : Premier bibliographic database for psychology. Also covers related fields including education, medicine, and social work.
  • PubMed : Provides the Medline database as well as additional periodicals not found in Medline.
  • Sociological Abstracts : Provides abstracts for over 1700 sociology journals as well as journals from related disciplines
  • Statemaster.com : Health statistics for US states.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States : Summarizes socio-political statistics for the United States since 1878.
  • Science.gov (www.science.gov) U.S. government portal to over 36 science databases.
  • Web of Science Hard sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

 Selected Journals

Selected Print Reference Sources

Selected Web Resources

Rhetoric & Public Affairs Resources

Selected Databases

  Selected Journals

Selected Print Reference Sources

Selected Web Resources

Telecommunications Resources

Selected Databases

  • ABI/INFORM
  • A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies : Web-based index of US government departments and agencies
  • Business & Company Resource Center : Profiles of 300,000 companies worldwide; reports may include financial information, company histories, investment reports, rankings, and product information.  Also includes market research reports, in-depth industry overviews, and lists of related trade associations.
    Business Source Complete : Includes Company Reports and Industry Profiles.
  • GlobalComms : Database of global wireline and wireless communications competitors. Tracks more than 900 companies, provides statistics and industry updates, and provides daily news summaries.
  • ProQuest Telecommunications : Full text telecommunications industry magazines, journals, and newsletters

Selected Directory Databases for locating global media corporation information

  • Associations Unlimited : Online version of the Encyclopedia of Associations and the National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations.
  • Business & Company Resource Center : Profiles of 300,000 companies worldwide; reports may include financial information, company histories, investment reports, rankings, and product information.  Also includes market research reports, in-depth industry overviews, and lists of related trade associations.
  • Business Source Complete : Includes Company Reports and Industry Profiles.
  • GlobalComms : Provides news and company overviews for over 100 countries.  It contains a "browse company profiles" section and a "search company data" section
  • Guidestar : Directory information for nonprofits
  • Hoovers : Directory that includes business overviews, histories, and news,
  • Mergent Online : Allows the user to create company reports.

 Selected Journals

Selected Print Reference Sources

Journalism Resources

Selected Databases

  • Communication Source : This database combines two EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, to provide access to over 500 core journals in all areas of communication and journalism..
  • Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection  : Contains full-text articles for forty SAGE journals. Covers communication studies, cultural studies, mass media communication, journalism, and many more communication sub-disciplines.
  • Compile : An ongoing inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, ESL (English as a second language), and technical writing.
  • Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications : Online Encyclopedia with 200 articles covering communication and mass media concepts.
  • Journalism and Mass Communication Abstracts : Abstracts journalism and mass communication journals. Also includes abstracts for dissertations and theses.
  • JSTOR : Archive of historically important academic journals in science, social science, and humanities. Many articles are full-text.
  • Vanderbilt Television News Archive : Access video to television news broadcasts since 1968.

Selected News Aggregators

  • Factiva : News from over 14,000 newspapers, magazines, and trade journals.
  • Google News : Google's news aggregator.
  • Library Press Display : Full color, full page access to 1000 newspapers from 84 countries. 60 day backfile.
  • Lexis Nexis : Well respected news aggregator indexing full text from over 6000 publications.
  • SiloBreaker : Free online news search service that includes several useful analytical tools

Selected Journals

Selected Print Reference Sources

Historical Newspaper Databases : (links to Newspapers subject guide)

Selected Web Resources

Science Communication Resources

Selected Databases

Selected Journals

Selected Print Reference Sources