Research Guides: Health & Kinesiology: Research Databases

Research Databases

The following databases are recommended for research on health and kinesiology topics. Keep in mind, no single database includes all journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc. Depending on your topic, you may need to use several databases to locate the information you need.

If you are accessing databases from off-campus you will be required to authenticate with your NetID and password.
When the full text of an article is not linked directly from the database (PDF or HTML link) click on the "Find Text @ TAMU" button for links to the full text.

Recommended Databases

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's interface to MEDLINE, and access to additional journals not indexed in MEDLINE.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Publishing's interface to MEDLINE, an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine journals.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides access to top nursing and allied health journals.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,000 biomedical titles not in MEDLINE.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, point-of-care information for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists, and sports medicine professionals.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
A premier source for social gerontology literature, this database includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy (focuses exclusively on the population aged 50 and over on issues of aging).

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Covers roughly 2,500 journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences. Includes sport and exercise psychology, sport sociology, sport sciences, and health journals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Scholarly database of more than 8,500 journals (7,300 peer-reviewed) in almost every academic discipline.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide-range of business topics.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides historical information and current trends in business covering accounting, finance, banking, marketing, management and much more.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
covers all aspects of sport (marketing, management, health, education)
Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Statistical data related to sports and sporting goods, and information on professional sports teams and the NCAA.