Skip to main content

Research Guides

Middle East and North Africa

Background on Islamic Law

"Qatar has an established and independent judiciary. It is divided into three court systems: the secular system which handles civil, commercial, and criminal laws; the Sharia’a system which handles Islamic marriage, divorce, child support, succession and some criminal law issues; and the Qatar Financial Center legal system which handles commercial cases arising out of Qatar’s special economic zone." (Embassy of the US:

Here are a few sources that may be assistance:

Global Legal Monitor for Qatar

Loading ...