These series offer a number of introductory books on a variety of topics within the discipline of philosophy. You can use these books to identify, and learn about, key scholars and works within specific subject areas of philosophy.
- Blackwell Companions to Philosophy
Comprehensive and authoritative survey of philosophy as a whole. Each volume, written by today's leading philosophers, provides lucid and engaging coverage of the key figures, terms, topics, and problems of the field.
- Blackwell Philosopher Dictionaries
Each Blackwell Dictionary presents the life an work of an individual philosopher in a scholarly and accessible manner. Entries cover key ideas and thoughts, as well as the main themes of the philosopher's works. A comprehensive bibliographical sketch is also included.
- Blackwell Philosophy Anthologies
Each volume in this series provides an authoritative and comprehensive collection of the essential primary readings from philosophy's main fields of study. Designed to complement the Blackwell Companions to Philosophy series.
- Blackwell Philosophy Guides
Written by distinguished philosophers, this series provides a complete critical survey of the central themes and issues of philosophy today. Focusing and advancing key arguments throughout, each essay incorporates essential background material serving to clarify the history and logic of the relevant topic.
- Cambridge Companions to Philosophy
This series offers lively, clear introductions to major philosophical writers, thinkers, topics, and periods. Each volume contains specially commissioned essays by a team of leading scholars, therefore offering a variety of viewpoints rather than a single voice.
- Contemporary Debates in Philosophy (Blackwell)
This series presents a forum for readers to follow and participate in the debates that animate philosophy today in the western world. Each volume presents pairs of opposing viewpoints on contested themes and topics in the central subfields of philosophy. Each volume is edited and introduced by an expert in the field, and also includes an index, bibliography, and suggestions for further reading. The opposing essays, commissioned especially for the volumes in the series, are forceful presentations
- Routledge Critical Assessments of Leading Philosophers
Each multi-volume work in this series is dedicated to a specific philosopher and is intended to bring together important articles on the author's life works. They are often arranged by key themes and theories but some works are arranged chronologically by the philosopher's work.
- Routledge Critical Assessments of Political Philosophers
Each multi-volume work in this series is dedicated to a specific philosopher and is intended to bring together important articles on the author's life works. They are often arranged by key themes and theories but some works are arranged chronologically by the philosopher's work.
- Routledge Philosophy Companions
Each companion offers a thorough survey of a major subject in philosophy, containing around sixty specially-commissioned chapters by a team of international contributors.