Religious Studies

First published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Drawing on recent developments in the comparative study of religion, this book explores the trends of the past sixty years from a global perspective. Each of the ten chapters covers the study of religion in a different region of the world, from Europe and the Americas to Asia and the Far East. Topics covered include: local background to the study of religions formation of religious studies in the region important thinkers and writings institutions interregional diversity and interregional connections emerging issues. This book is a major contribution to the field of religious studies and a valuable reference for scholars, researchers and graduate students.

Buddhism is a vast and complex religious and philosophical tradition with a history that stretches over 2,500 years, and which is now followed by around 115 million people. In this introduction to the foundations of Buddhism, Rupert Gethin concentrates on the ideas and practices which constitute the common heritage of the different traditions of Buddhism (Theravada, Tibetan, and Eastern) that exist in the world today. From the narrative of the story of the Buddha, through discussions of aspects such as textual traditions, the framework of the Four Noble Truths, the interaction between the monastic and lay ways of life, the cosmology of karma and rebirth, and the path of the bodhisattva, this book provides a stimulating introduction to Buddhism as a religion and way of life.

A RUSA 2007 Outstanding Reference Title The Qur'an is the source of inspiration for one of the world's major religions, followed today by over a billion people. It plays a central role in Islam and ever since it appeared fourteen hundred years ago has been the subject of intense debate. Some of this has been carried out by Muslims and some by those hostile or indifferent to Islam, producing a very wide range of views. Authored bynbsp;forty-three international experts, the objective of The Qur'an: An Encyclopedia is to present this diversity of thought, approach and school without priority, in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of response that the text has provoked throughout its history and providing students and researchers with a powerful one-volume resource covering all aspects of the text and its reception. Islam and the Qur'an are much in the news today and there is a public debate going on in which things are said about the Qur'an without much knowledge or understanding of the book. Every effort has been made to help the reader use the Encyclopedia as an investigative tool in Quranic studies. The volume assumes no previous knowledge of the Qur'an, Islam or Arabic. Technical terms are explained in the text itself and the style of each entry is designed to be as self-contained as possible. Entries are cross-referenced and many include a brief bibliography. At the end of the work there is a substantial annotated bibliography providing a detailed guide to the most significant books, journals and articles in Qur'anic Studies. There is a full index. The readership will include those seeking basic information on the Qur'an, however the substantial number of longer entries means that it will also be used by specialists.

Compiled by two internationally renowned experts, and with over 600 wide-ranging and informative entries, The Routledge Dictionary of Judaism provides the reader with an invaluable reference aid to all areas of the religion. Topics covered include: *The religion's forms and history *Its institutions, religious practices and life cycle rites *Key texts and people, symbols and holy days *An understanding of theological terms, doctrine and philosophy.

Contains over 2000 articles on philosophy, including the philosophy of religion, religion and morality, religion and science, etc. Also includes subject guides for Judaism, Buddhism, Christianity, Islam, and Hinduism (As well as subject guides by world philosophies and historical periods).

An all-new atlas, the most complete ever, lays out the places and times of the biblical world and church history. Vivid maps and photographs extend the scope of the Atlas of the Bible and Christianity to all of Christian history and the geography of world religion today. In all, 160 original maps are based on satellite-produced images and the latest archaeological, historical, religious, and biblical research.

An exploration into the geography, history, archaeology and anthropology of the Near East from pre-history to 330 BC. Coverage includes early farming, the move towards civilization, the urban explosion, warring states, trade, international empires and conquerors from East and West.

This volume presents a visual, pictorial history of Jerusalem from the most ancient records to the most up-to-date excavations. The narrative text is accompanied by hundreds of specially prepared drawings, maps, and photographs that illuminate every aspect of human settlement from topography, water sources, and agriculture to security, architecture, and historical sites from the Temples of Solomon, Nehemiah, and Herod to the Church of the Holy Sepulcher and the Dome of the Rock.

While the particular aspects of faith vary from culture to culture, the basic desire for religion seems universal. The Historical Atlas of Religions offers insight into how different cultures’ beliefs evolved, how their influence spread, and where they came into conflict with each other. Written in a clear, unbiased manner, this book strives to put each religion into its own individual context. Beautifully illustrated, the Historical Atlas of Religions clearly shows how religions developed within and spread across geographical boundaries. Specially commissioned maps explain the origins and spread of different beliefs, and a timeline shows parallel thinking of various religions in different regions of the world. Special sections on conflicts discuss the friction between religious groups in the world today. Coverage includes: North America: Native American worship, Shamanism, the Pilgrim fathers, the Mormons, Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Spiritualist Church, Christian Scientists, Scientology Central and South America: Aztecs, Incas, missionary religion, Voodoo Africa: Tribal religions, Dogun Tribe and Star Worshippers, Ancient Egypt, Rastafarianism Europe: Ancient Greeks, Romans, Vikings, Christianity, Reformation in Europe, Greek and Russian Orthodox, Methodism, the Quakers, Salvation Army Middle East: Judaism; Christianity; Islam; Sufism; the Baha’i Faith Asia: Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Taoism, Zoroastrianism, Confucianism, Shinto, Sikhism Australia: Aboriginal religion, Maori religion, Easter Island.

Published with Israel on the verge of celebrating 50 years of statehood, this is a history and atlas of the young Jewish nation from ancient Palestine to the continuing peace. Correspondents of The New York Times, including five Pulitzer Prize winners, examine the political, military and social evolution of Israeli statehood.