Population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Free online map services, map layers, documents, and tools, such as geocoding and routing. The content includes several online maps, such as: multi-scale imagery, street maps, topographic maps, shaded relief, and demographics.
Complete atlas for each state created by the Newberry LIbrary: a master shapefile (polygons), metadata, comprehensive database, and historical chronologies. KMZ files also available.
Community planning develop maps across the country, containing many different types of data including transportation, environmental, boundaries, housing market analysis. among others.
Cropland Data Layers (CDL) from the USDA. The CDL is a geo-referenced raster of crop-specific land cover created annually for the continental United States using moderate resolution satellite imagery and extensive agricultural ground truth.
Composes the National Coastal Assessment Framework (CAF), providing NOAA’s GIS data of counties, states, boundaries, watersheds, shorelines, etc.
The U.S. Census Bureau's Data Federated Electronic Research, Review, Extraction and Tabulation Tool. A data mining and extraction tool that allows you to select a “databasket” full of variables and then recode those variables as you need in the form of table, chart, graph, or map. It can be installed as an application on your desktop or accessed via your internet browser. It offers a wide range of data topics, including: census, economic, health, income and unemployment, population, labor, cancer, crime, transportation, family dynamics, vital statistics, and more.
Collection of US Government data in a single comprehensive visualization engine.
Land use/land cover from the 1970s and 1980s.
Environmental information, including: air releases, drinking water, toxic releases, hazardous wastes, water discharge permits, and Superfund sites.
Information regarding facilities or sites subject to environmental regulation. It features downloadable XML, KML, shapefiles, and feature classes. Datasets include Superfund National Priority List (NPL); EPA and State Treatment, Storage, Disposal facilities; Toxic Release Inventory System; National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Majors; Large Quantity Generators; Air Facility System, Corrective Actions; and more.
Land use/land cover data.
FCC licensing data, regulated towers and market area boundaries, including Cellular, Antenna Structure Registration, AM and FM databases.
Official statistical information produced by the Federal Government. No GIS data is provided.
An official spatial repository for statistical data produced by the U.S. Department of Transportation
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research offers a census data collection that contains detailed county and state level ecological and descriptive data for the United States for the years 1790 to 2002. The TAMU community has direct access to download data by creating an account using the tamu.edu e-mail.
Data concerning residential distribution of people involved in the criminal justice system. It uses aggregated address data to map the flow of people being removed to prison, reentering communities from prison, and the standing population concentrations of people under parole or probation supervision. Data can be exported in in Excel, PDF, and JPEG formats.
Statistical publications and datasets produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations with its advanced Search Tables functionality. GIS data is not provided.
Historical and international census data, and population data. It offers historical census samples for the United States, innovative tools for the electronic dissemination of demographic data, and improved comparability and documentation of census microdata across time and space. GIS data is not provided.
National Land Cover Datasets.
Comprehensive list of GIS and geography related websites. It includes link categories such as U.S. federal Agencies, professional organizations, universities and research Institutes, and Commercial or Open Sources. The website allows searching datasets by topic
, each one with a detailed description and its geographic coverage. Datasets are presented through web-based and desktop GIS interfaces
Free, aggregated census data and boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000. The geographic units offered are state, county, county subdivision, census tract, block, block group, MSAs, place, voting district, zipcode, congressional district, etc. Data can be downloaded in ASCII, SPSS, SAS, STATA command file formatting, and comma or GIS comma-separated, column-delimited, and shapefiles data formats.
High-quality, geospatial data and information from the USGS as well as other federal, state, and local partners. It includes orthoimagery, elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. It offers several interactive viewers:
- National Map Viewer contains data sets from many contributing agencies.
- USGS TopoView includes TopoView offers access to JPEG's, GeoTFF's, KMZ's, and GeoPDF's of the USGS's Historical Togographic Map Collection.
- National Map Seamless Server is the primary site to download USGS imagery, elevation and land cover data.
- National Map ‘Best Practices’ Viewer offers the most up-to-date National Map road, boundaries, structures, and other vector data.
- National Hydrography Data (NHD) Viewer contains hydrography digital spatial data, such as: lakes, ponds, streams, rivers, springs and wells. It offers data extraction on medium, high or local resolution, and is delivered as personal geodatabase, file geodatabase, or shapefile.
Dynamically-generated maps of renewable energy resources. It also offers downloadable GIS data and geospatial toolkits via FTP.
National geographic databases of transportation infrastructure and facilities.
NGA's GEOINT services, including DEM data of the Arctic and Combating Wildlife Trafficking.
Interactive mapping application created by the Coastal Services Center that features tropical cyclone data of both Atlantic and Eastern North pacific basins.
World's largest active archive of weather and climate data. The center develops both national and global datasets. Data is extracted via the GIS Map Services Index
Interactive maps including data from the Earth and sun, including Earth observations from space and sea floor data. It offers software and conversion tools, as well as downloadable shapefiles extracted from interactive maps
Directory database of 12 million U.S. businesses, from local sole proprietorships to Fortune 500 corporations. Searches include company name, business size, corporate linkages, SIC/NAICS, and detailed geographic information. Data extraction and viewing tutorials are available on how to harvest selected data and map downloaded data.
A web-based interface that offers U.S. demographic information, including historical data starting in 1940.
The U.S. Census Bureau's Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing System offers shapefiles for the United States. Legal and statistical geographic areas are offered, as well as features like roads, railroads, rivers, and more. The shapefiles do not include demographic data, but they contain geographic entity codes (i.e. FIPS) that can be linked to U.S. Census demographic data available at American FactFinder. Cartographic Boundaries of 1990, 2000 and other selected years are available to download
Collection of searchable datasets pertaining to urban development, including: fair market rents, public housing buildings, public housing developments, jobs proximity index, and many more.
Data at scales ranging from 1:12,000 to 1:500,000. They are organized by state with source, theme, spatial coverage, scale, metadata, and data link information available for each item. It also offers data from other agencies.
Natural resources and environmental data. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from the catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded via FTP site or shipped on CD or DVD. Themes include orthoimagery, soils, common land unit, cultural and demographics, geographic boundaries and places, elevation hydrography, cadastral, transportation, digital raster quads, land cover/vegetation/plants, watershed boundaries, wetlands, precipitation and temperature, flood hazards, and national inventory of dams/water control infrastructures.
Soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world, including soil maps and data for more than 95 percent of the U.S. counties. The electronic version of published soil surveys can be accessed here
It lists sources for digital historic 15" topos for the US, created by Illinois State Library's Map Librarian.
It lists sources for digital historic 7.5" topos for the US, created by Illinois State Library's Map Librarian.
Over 50,000 7.5-minute USGS topographic maps to view in Google Earth, created by Google Earth Library.
Free access to terrain, land use/land cover (LULC) and digital line graph (DLG) data.