Skip to main content

Research Guides

Athletic Training

Research Databases

The databases grouped and listed below are recommended for research on athletic training topics.  Keep in mind, no single database includes all journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc. Depending on your topic, you may need to use several databases to locate the information you need.

  • If you are accessing databases from off-campus you will be required to authenticate with your NetID and password.  
  • When the full text of an article is not linked directly from the database (PDF or HTML link) click on the "Find Text @ TAMU" button for links to the full text. 

Recommended Databases

Evidence-based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research.1
 


  1. Sackett DL, Rosenberg WMC, Gray JAM, Haynes RB, Richardson WS. Evidence based medicine: What it is and what it isn't. It's about integrating individual clinical expertise and the best external evidence. Br Med J. 1996;312(7023):71-72..
  2. Higgins J, Green S (editors). Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions Version 5.1.0. The Cochrane Collaboration; 2011.

A systematic review attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a given research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit methods aimed at minimizing bias, in order to produce more reliable findings that can be used to inform decision making.2

These databases cover multiple disciplines and keep track of citing and cited references.

Open resources provide unrestricted access to information (no login or authentication required).  

Loading ...