Skip to main content

Research Guides

FILM/WGST 343.500 Sex, Gender, Cinema-Prof. Dan Humphrey (Fall 2016)

Articles

=========================
JOURNAL ARTICLES- DATABASES

=========================
Finding Critical / Scholarly Reviews

  • International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text  (Chadwyck Healey)  1864-present
    Scholarly and popular journals on performing arts--drama, theater, dance, film, television and more   E.g. Derek Jarman and technique
              E.g. Derek Jarman and approach
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Date varies.
    Scholarly and popular journals with selected full text covering a comprehensive range of subjects   E.g. Ingmar Bergman AND individual   [in TX]
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega (Wilson) Date varies.
    E.g.  derek jarman [Keyword] and "jarman's film" [Text]
  • MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)  1926-present
  • Art Full Text (Wilson) (Index from 1984, abstract 1994, & fulltext 1997) 
    Articles from periodicals published throughout the world with selected full-text coverage, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins

==============================
HISTORICAL NEWSPAPER OR ARCHIVES
==============================

========================= 
WOMEN'S AND GENDER STUDIES 

=========================

=================================
ESSAYS, TRADE JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS
=================================

  • Essay & General Literature Index  (1985-present) History, psychology, religion, political science to folklore, film, music, drama, and literature.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Previous 10 years to present   [tamu access only]
    covering thousands of national and regional periodicals, trade journals and newspapers. Search path: News > Source >Browse Sources>News [yellow folder] > select  Book, movie, music, play and video reviews> click OK-Continue button > in Search Term box, type in director name.

============================
CITING MEDIA or OTHER SOURCES
============================