Skip to main content

Research Guides

Race and Ethnic Studies and Relations

Databases

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Black Studies Center 
BSC covers scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.  

Black Thought and Culture 
BTC contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, from colonial times to the present, covering the published works of leading African Americans. Sources include published non-fiction works, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.  Recent updates include a new interface and more issues of the Black Panther newspaper.

Black Women Writers 
BWW offers over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays from Africa, North America, Europe and the Caribbean.  It brings together the many voices of women in the African Diaspora from over 20 countries.

Gender Studies Database 
GSD covers sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

JSTOR-is a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content.  Well-respected Africana Studies journals are included in JSTOR such as Callaloo, The Journal of African American History, and the Journal of Negro Education and much more.

Kanopy-streaming video, films, documentaries.

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.

Project MUSE-is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.  MUSE contains content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers including the recent journal Black Women, Gender, and Families.

Race Relations Abstracts 
RRA includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Rock & Roll, Counter Culture, Peace and Protest, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
The resource offers thousands of color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera, and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.