Skip to main content

Research Guides

MATH 220 - Fundamentals of Discrete Mathematics

E-resources

The Subject Guide for Mathematics:

http://guides.library.tamu.edu/math
The subject guide for Mathematics on the Library’s website is a collection of resources including online indexes/databases and some good websites from which you can find a lot of helpful information.

Searching Books in the Library: 

LibCat – http://libcat.tamu.edu, or access it from the Library’s homepage.
Use “Simple Search” or “Keyword builder” to search for books; note “Call Number”, “Location” and “Status”; come to the right locations and retrieve the books. 

Library Books Online 

Springer Ebooks Online
We have access to e-books published by Springer since 2005. 

Netlibrary
It is a collection of electronic books in various disciplines including mathematics. The full-text is available.

ebrary
It includes 20,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas.

Selected Reference Books 

Handbook of discrete and combinatorial mathematics
Editor: Kenneth H. Rosen
Location: Evans Library
Call Number: QA164 .H36 2000 

McGraw-Hill dictionary of mathematics
Location: Full-text online through NetLibrary
Call No.: QA5 .M425 2003eb

The Penguin dictionary of mathematics
Editor: David Nelson
Location: Evans Library
Call No.: QA5 .P4425 2003 

Encyclopedia of mathematics
Editor: James Tanton
Location: Evans Library
Call No.: QA5 .T34 2005

CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics
Editor: Eric W. Weisstein
Location: Evans Library
Call No.: QA76.15 .E53 2001

Free Online Resources

Wolfram MathWorld  http://mathworld.wolfram.com/
MathWorld is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia which is sponsored by Wolfram Research, the creators of Mathematica.  MathWorld was created by Eric W. Weisstein, with assistance from the mathematics and internet communities. 

Math on the Web  http://www.ams.org/mathweb
Part of the American Mathematics Society web site.  Includes information on reference material; books; abstracting, reviewing, and database services; servers; journals; institutes and societies; addresses; and lists of the most important mathematics web sources. Gain access via a table, the AMS classification system, or by topic. 

Math Forum  http://mathforum.org/
This is a popular online forum originally funded by the National Science Foundation.  Drexel University is the current administrator. Math Forum has links to over 8,500 online resources in mathematics and math education.  Search by topic, resource type, and educational level. 

MAA Mathematical Science Digital Library  http://mathdl.maa.org/mathDL/
MathDL is an online resource published by the Mathematical Association of America. The site provides online resources for both teachers and students of mathematics. 

Article Databases 

MathSciNet
The major mathematical index used in the United States.  It provides Web access to over 65 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. It contains evaluative reviews and abstracts of the international research literature in mathematics and related disciplines. Full-text is not available from the database. You need to check LibCat or Search Now to see the availability. If the article is not in our collections, you may use Get it for me service to request it. 

SIAM Journals Online
The full text of the articles in the eleven journals is included in the SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) Journals Online database. 

Web of Science
It includes the Science Citation Index, which covers over 5,900 of the most important science and engineering journals. Search by author, subject, or look for all the papers which have cited another paper.

Scopus
Another citation database similar to Web of Scinece 

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a database of scientific, technical and medical literature from publishers such as Elsevier, Pergamon, Academic Press, etc. The full text is available for some journals or books. 

JSTOR
Full text archive of scholarly journals. It includes important math and science titles such as journals from the Association of Computing and Machinery, the American Mathematical Society, the National Academy of Sciences, and the Royal Society. Strong source for the history of science.   Includes core English language mathematics journals from 1878 to within 3 – 5 years of the present date.

Academic Search Complete
It provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications, 3,100 of which are peer reviewed. It is multi-disciplinary and includes mathematics. It can be a good database for undergraduates to use.