Skip to main content

Research Guides

RefWorks

Refworks Legacy (Old Refworks) Login



Create Account

Forgot Login?

RefGrabIt

  • Features:
    • Used for citing webpages 
    • Also captures books (if ISBN # on page), or articles from webpages (if PubMed ID or DOI # on page)  
    • Cannot be used on .pdf files   
  • Works with   
    • PCs: use Internet Explorer or Firefox   
    • Macs: use Firefox or Netscape   
    • Does not work with Safari, Google Chrome, or other browsers   
  • Available in 2 ways: (just need one version)
    • bookmarklet (see instructions right) version most often selected
    • add on: helpful for downloading from databases that provide a .ris file and do not have a direct export (see instructions lower right)

Download RefGrabIt Bookmarklet

Firefox Users (PC)

Drag and drop this link to your bookmarks toolbar:

RefGrab-It bookmarklet link.

       Bookmarks Toolbar not visible? to make it appear:

  1. Click on Firefox
  2. Hover over options, make sure Bookmarks Toolbar is checked

Google Chrome (PC or Macs)

Drag and drop this link to your bookmarks toolbar: RefGrab-It bookmarklet link.


Netscape Users (PC)
Unfortunately, RefGrab-It is not currently compatible with this browser.

Mac Users: (Firefox and Netscape)

  1. Select Tools, RefGrab-It.
  2. Drag and drop this RefGrab-It bookmarklet link to your browser toolbar

To Install RefGrab-It as an Internet Explorer Plug-In: (see handout for more help)

  1. Click on this RefGrab-It Internet Explorer Plug-In link.
  2. Click the Save button to save a file named Setup.msi to your computer.
  3. Click Run after downloaded.
  4. RefGrabIt will appear as an icon on the Browser.  Click on the >> next to Tools to see it.
  5. To move the icon and make it easier to see:
    • Click on Tools dropdown menu on Internet Explorer
    • Select Toolbars then select Customize
    • Select RefGrabIt from list under Current Toolbar buttons list
    • Click Move up until next to Home
    • Now a red circle (RefGrabIt icon) will appear in top right corner

To Install RefGrab-It as a Firefox Plug-in:

  1. Click on this RefGrab-It Firefox Plug-In link.
  2. Firefox may show a security message in yellow bar across top of browser.  Click Allow.
  3. Click the Install now.
  4. Click Restart Firefox.
  5. After the restart the Firefox Add-on box will appear with RefGrab-It listed.  RefGrab-It icon in the bottom-right corner of the browser (on the right side of the status bar).

For Webpages

  1. Go to a webpage
  2. Click on RefGrabIt
  3. Click on box next to webpage info
  4. Click Import into RefWorks
  5. Click View Last Imported Folder
  6. Click edit next to citation to change information as needed, usually need to add information on author
  7. Click Save Reference to save changes

For Books

RefGrabIt will recognize ISBNs on a page (unique numbers designated to books).  Several cites list ISBN’s such as Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and more.  When information about book is on the screen:

  1. Click on RefGrabIt
  2. Click on box next to book
  3. Click Import into RefWorks

For Articles

Do not use these steps for articles listed in a subscription database, such as those available through CSA, EBSCO, Ovid, and so on.  RefGrabIt recognizes DOI numbers (unique numbers designated to some articles) and Pubmed IDs (unique numbers given to PubMed articles).

  1. If you see a DOI or Pubmed ID number, Click on RefGrabIt
  2. Click on box next to article to import
  3. Click Import into RefWorks
Loading

What is RefWorks Legacy (Old RefWorks)?

There are now two versions of RefWorks available to Texas A&M patrons, New RefWorks and RefWorks Legacy (Old RefWorks). If you have been using the same account for some time now, you are probably using Legacy (Old) RefWorks; the login link is below and available through the RefWorks Legacy (Old RefWorks) menu option to the left.

RefWorks Legacy is a web based tool for collecting, accessing, organizing, citing, and sharing citations including articles, books, websites, and more.  

Step 1Create an account: Fill out form, selecting your own username and password

Step 2Learn the basics:  watch videos

Step 3. Add citations:Add from variety of sources (many are covered in handout)

  • Add from: Compendex, EBSCO, JSTOR, Lexis Nexis, Ovid, Proquest, Pubmed, ScienceDirect, Web of Science
  • Add from Articles search on Library Homepage
  • Add from Endnote, another TAMU RefWorks account, another university RefWorks account
  • Add using RefGrabIt, a tool for adding websites Pubmed articles, & more

Step 4. Managing Citations: organizing citations by folder, removing duplicates, adding PDF's, and more

Step 5. Create bibliographies: RefWorks helps you create bibliographies in 3 ways- quick list, Using Write-N-Cite in MS Word (PC or Mac), or using any word processor such as open office 

Group Code

Click here to see the group code.

Alumni Access

RefWorks allows users to continue access even after leaving TAMU.  Access is also extended to TAMU alumni.

1) Go to http://www.refworks.com

2) Click on Login tab

Please contact Margaret Foster at margaretfoster@tamu.edu with questions.

Write-N-Cite

There are 3 ways to create bibliographies using RefWorks

 A new version is now available for Mac Users.  HANDOUT on downloading and using Write-N-Cite 4 for Macs

Write-N-Cite is a toolbar in MS Word that allows you to easily cite articles within your RefWorks account into your document.  If you do not have administration rights to your computer here is the End User License Agreement to show to IT personell.

Step 1: Download Write N Cite

  1. In RefWorks, Click on Tools tab
  2. Select Write-N-Cite
  3. Click on Write-N-Cite for Mac (top right corner)
  4. Copy the Write-N-Cite login code shown on Left Column
  5. Click on Download Now

 Step 2: Install Write-N-Cite

 Important Notes:

  • Do not install Write-N-Cite with Microsoft Word running.
  • If you have an earlier version of Write-N-Cite 2, uninstall it before continuing. Future updates to the new Write-N-Cite can be installed over the current version.
  • Write-N-Cite for Mac is compatible with OS X 10.5, 10.6 & 10.7 (Leopard, Snow Leopard & Lion). It works as a plugin for Microsoft Word 2008 and 2011.

 After downloading WnC4Install.dmg from the download page…

  1. Mount the disk image by double clicking it in Finder. Some browsers, like Safari may offer to mount the disk image for you.
  2. In the disk image, open the Write-N-Cite 4.mpkg file by double clicking.
  3. You will be prompted to run a program to determine if the software can be installed. Press Continue.
  4. Follow the steps of the installer.
  5. When the installer has completed open Microsoft Word. If the Write-N-Cite toolbar is not displayed, you can find it and enable it under the menu item View->Toolbars->Write-N-Cite.

Step 3: Log into your account

  1. Login to your RefWorks account by clicking the login button on the toolbar.
  2. You can enter your Group Code (rwtamu for TAMU Libraries), Login Name & Password or you can use the Login Code as copied from the Write-N-Cite download page.
  • If you did not copy your Login Code before, you can get a new code from the Write-N-Cite download page at any time. Each code is specific to your account and expires after 4 hours if not used.
  • After installing and logging in, there’s no need to log out when using your personal computer. Your account will stay tied to the computer across sessions until you choose to log out.

Write-N-Cite is a free program from RefWorks used to insert citations from your RefWorks account into a Word document.  It is a small program (less than 1000K) and can be downloaded on as many different computers as you need.  Handout on downloading and using Write N Cite 4

There are currently 2 versions of Write N Cite.  Write N Cite 3 is already available on OAL Computers (see right side box).  Write N Cite 4 recently released is available for download from your RefWorks account.  If you do not have adminstrator rights to your computer, here is the End User License Agreement to show your IT staff.

Note:  Do not install Write-N-Cite with Microsoft Word running.  If you have an earlier version of Write-N-Cite (2 or 3), uninstall it before continuing.  Updates to Write-N-Cite 4 could be installed over current version.  Write-N-Cite for Windows is compatible with Windows XP, Vista and Windows 7.  It works as a plugin for Microsoft Word 2007 and 2010.

VIDEO for WNC 4: Installing & Logging In

VIDEO for WNC 4: The Basics: Inserting Citations and Creating Bibliographies

Downloading Write-N-Cite

1. Log into RefWorks.  Select Write-N-Cite from the Tools menu in RefWorks.

2. Click the Download now green button.  Click on Previous Versions to download WNC III. (The "Install Information" link provides the same information listed here, and does not provide a link for downloading).

Note: If you get a message that Net 4.0 needs to be installed, install this free web installer program from Microsoft.

3. Save the .exe file to your computer.  

4. Optional:  Before leaving the download page please copy your Login Code onto your clipboard, using the instructions on the left hand side of the page.  This will enable you to easily log in to Write-N-Cite without needing your RefWorks credentials or on campus access. 

How do I pick a download option?

If you access the download page from a 32bit computer, you will only see one download option, which will be the version of Write-N-Cite for 32bit Office.  However, if you have a 64bit computer, both options will be shown.  It will depend whether you have 32bit or 64bit Office. Either can be installed on a 64bit computer. Unsure? this website can help you find the answer.

After downloading the proper file from the download page…

5.  Make sure that Microsoft Word is not running.

6.  Confirm that you have all recent Windows and Office updates from Microsoft’s Update tool.

7.  Run the downloaded exe file. 

8.  Follow the steps of the installer.  You may be prompted to install pre-requisites before the Write-N-Cite install begins.

9.  When the installer has completed open Microsoft Word.  You will see a new RefWorks tab in your Ribbon.

10.  Login to your RefWorks account by clicking the login button on the Ribbon.  You can enter your Group Code, Login Name & Password or you can use the Login Code as copied from the Write-N-Cite download page.

If you did not copy your Login Code before, you can get a new code from the Write-N-Cite download page at any time.  Each code is specific to your account and expires after 4 hours if not used.

After installing and logging in, there’s no need to log out when using your personal computer.  Your account will stay tied to the computer across sessions until you choose to log out.

Help with APA and RefWorks

Write-N-Cite and citation styles with footnotes (Windows)

When the new improved Write-N-Cite (4) is available, working with footnotes will be even easier.

To add citation styles to your list of favorites (in RefWorks and Write-N-Cite):

  1. Click on Bibliography tab while in RefWorks
  2. Select Output Style Manager
  3. Search for styles by typing in a keyword, or browse alphabetically
  4. Select citation style by clicking on name in list
  5. Click Right green arrow to move to favorites list

Norton Internet Security Users:  If you have trouble generating a bibliography from within Write-N-Cite, check to make sure Write-N-Cite has "permission" to access the internet.  To do this:

  1. open Norton Internet Security
  2. Select Personal Firewall and click on the configure button
  3. Select the Programs tab
  4. Scroll down the list to find Write-N-Cite
  5. In the Internet Access column, make sure access is set to Permit

Windows XP Firewall Users:  If you have trouble generating a bibliography from within Write-N-Cite, you will need to configure your firewall to allow Write-N-Cite as an exception.  Here's how:

  1. Click on the Windows Start icon
  2. Select Control Panel
  3. Select Windows Firewall
  4. Click the Exceptions tab
  5. Click the Add Program box
  6. A list of programs running on your computer will appear, locate Write-N-Cite and select it. Note: If the program that you wish to add is not listed in the Add a Program box, click Browse
  7. Click OK
Loading

RefWorks Tutorials

New RefWorks Youtube video channel

Legacy RefWorks Youtube video channel

Transfer Records from Legacy or Mendeley to New RefWorks

It is a simple procedure to transfer your Legacy RefWorks or Mendeley records into New RefWorks:

  1. Open your New RefWorks account
  2. Click on the "Add Records " icon (the "plus" sign in the tool bar)
  3. Click "Import Records"
  4. Click "RefWorks" or "Mendeley"
  5. Click "Authorize"
  6. Login into your Legacy RefWorks or Mendeley account to transfer