Skip to main content

Research Guides

Educational Psychology

Responsibilities of Test Users

These resources provide information on ethical standards for the use of test and other measurement instruments, including academic, research, and professional practice settings.

Finding Reviews (Commercial Tests & Measures)

Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print have been combined into one database which provides reviews for commercial tests and measures (those available for sale by publishers).

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) and Tests in Print (TIP) are now combined into one database. MMY provides a description, validity and reliability data, and two full-text critiques/reviews for each commercial (for sale) standardized test instrument and measurement scale in the database. Instruments are classified into 18 areas such as educational skills, intelligence, aptitude, personality, and achievement. Test descriptions include: administration time, intended test population, price, publication date, acronym, author(s), publisher, and test purpose (what is being measured). Includes content from all Yearbooks, 1938 through current.

Using Commercial Tests & Measures in Your Research

Commercial tests and  measures are not purchased by TAMU Libraries.  These have undergone extensive testing to achieve high vailidity and reliability measures and are kept under tight control by publishers.  Publishers protect access by selling copies to practicing pyschologists or other qualified professionals only.  You will find "some" commercial tests (either in part or whole) in dissertations, books, or scholarly journal articles because researchers have obtained permission in advance from the test author or copyright holder (sometimes the publisher) prior to use and publication.  

Graduate students needing access to test instruments for research purposes should:

1.  Search databases for tests pubished in dissertations, journal articles, or books
2.  Contact the test author to request a copy
3.  Contact the publisher to purchase a copy 

If you wish to alter an original test or other measurement instrument for use in your thesis/dissertation or publication, you must first seek permission to do so from the test author or copyright holder.  

Merely citing the instrument is not sufficient.  See Responsibilities of Test Users section above.

Tips for Locating Tests & Measures (Full Text)

These databases can be used to find both commercial and non-commercial tests and measures appended to dissertations, journal articles, or books.  See specific techniques for searching each database below. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is the database that usually yields the best results for commercial tests.

  • PsycINFO (ProQuest) 
    Using the Tests & Measures field, search for the name of your test or measure and add the word "appended" as a keyword, also limiting to the Tests & Measures field. If the test was appended to the end of the article, or included within a table of section of the article, you will get search results.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses - Full Text  
    Search for the test instrument name within the Abstract field. If a test is used in the dissertation, it will usually be mentioned in the abstract. Then view the PDF of each of the results. The Method section in the Table of Contents will usually list Measures used in the dissertation; and the test will sometimes be found in the appendix.
    Do a search for your test name and select "Tests/Questionnaires" as your Publication Type.
  • ETS Test Collection 
    Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection contains over 25,000 test instruments and measures from the early 1900s to the present. These are available to purchase for $25 download fee. For tests without an e-order field, you must contact the copyright holder displayed in the availability field.
  • SDSU Test Finder 
    Free database produced by San Diego State University (SDSU). Search for the name of your test - results will return a list of books and journals and page numbers where the test (or portion of the test) has been published. then search our library to see if we own the item.