Skip to main content

Research Guides


Federal Government Information


LibCat - Locate Federal Documents available at the Evans Library.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO) - 1976 to current. The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the finding tool for federal publications  and provides links to those available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word.

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publication (TAMU only) 1895-1976 - Use this database to search for documents issued prior to 1976 - then write down the SuDoc number and search for the document in the print collection on the 5th floor of Evans Annex, or the second floor of Evans in the microfiche area.

Hathi Trust Digital Library - Some documents have been digitized, search this website to see if your document is available online.

*Note - Evans library does not select all available government publications. Please use Get it for me if you need documents we don't have available here.

Search Engines

FDsys - FDsys is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government including the Congressional Record, Bills, Public Laws, the Federal Budget, regulations and more. - Official information and services from the U.S. government

Access to Government Documents

As a federal depository library, Evan's makes government documents available for the free use for faculty, staff, students, as well as the general public. For assistance please contact the Evan's Reference Desk, or chat with us.


100 Core Documents

Milestone Documents 1776-1965


ProQuest Congressional -  Full-text of detailed information about Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, hearings, congressional papers, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Get full text PDFs of all congressional hearings, the Serial Set, CRS Reports, the Statutes at Large and the Congressional Record up to 1997.

LexisNexis Academic: Provides full text of Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, federal case law, legal information, and more.

ProQuest Government Periodicals: full text of government journals.

ProQuest Statistical Insight: access to government and organizational statistics.

Digital National Security Archive (TAMU Only) - The database includes the most important declassified documents regarding U.S. policy.

Military & Government Collection (TAMU Only) - Provides access to current news and journals pertaining to all branches of the military.

Campus Research (TAMU Only) Includes United States Code Annotated, federal cases, the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register.

CQ Electronic Library (TAMU Only) - the CQ Electronic Library is a resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the Encyclopedia of American Government, Supreme Court Collection, Voting and Elections Collection, Public Affairs and Congress Collections.

U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals Library (TAMU Only) - access to federal agency legal publications

GPO Metalib - MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

U.S. Serial Set

Search for historic primary resources of Reports and Documents of the U.S. House and Senate. Includes the American State Papers. 1789-to current

ProQuest (TAMU Only)

Readex (TAMU Only) - version up to 1980

GPO Access 1995-current


Federal Agency Sites

Census Bureau: Starting place for census data

Fedstats- U.S. Government Statistics

Historic U.S. Documents: American Memory Project

Tax Forms and Publications

White House Home Page

Other Sites

C-Span - Provides public access to the political process.

Congressional Record

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the Congress in both the House of Representatives and the Senate. It contains: a verbatim record of what is said on the floor of the House and Senate (however, members can revise and extend their remarks), a record of votes reprints of major bills and some committee reports (including all conference committee reports), veto messages, and a "Daily Digest" of floor action.

The Congressional Record began publication in 1873 (43rd Congress, 2nd session). Printed by the Government Printing Office, it is the fourth in a series of publications containing the debates of Congress. (It was preceded by the Annals of Congress (1787 – 1824), Register of Debates (1824 – 1837), and Congressional Globe (1833 – 1873). The Record is far more comprehensive than its predecessors in reporting Congressional debates

Congressional hearings and Congressional documents and reports are not included in the Congressional Record but are available in ProQuest Congressional and FDsys 

Congressional Record

ProQuest Congressional 1789-1997 (Permanent/Bound)
1985-current (Daily Edition)
Thomas (Library of Congress) 1989-current (Daily Edition)
Fdsys (GPO) 1994-current (Daily Edition)
1999-2001 (Permanent/Bound)
LLMC  1990-2001 (Permanent/Bound)


We have some Daily Digests and Indexes in print in the Evans Annex 5th Floor call number:  X

For more in depth information see

Besides the Congressional Record, which is a "substantially" verbatim account of House and Senate proceedings, C-SPAN has been recording and transmitting televised coverage of House proceeding since March 29, 1979 and Senate proceedings since June 2, 1986. Thus in determining legislative intent, some courts have preferred using C-SPAN audio tapes. 

Campus Research has some congressional information, to search click on “Publication List” and type in “Congress” for selected documents and testimony.

Congressional Globe

The Globe, contains the congressional debates of the 23rd through 42nd Congresses (1833-73). Earlier, the Globe contained a "condensed report" or abstract rather than a verbatim report of the debates and proceedings. With the 32nd Congress (1851), however, the Globe began to provide some verbatim transcription.

ProQuest Congressional

Congressional Globe (Library of Congress American Memory project)

The Register of Debates

The Register of Debates is a record of the congressional debates of the 18th Congress, 2nd Session through the 25th Congress, 1st Session (1824-37). It is the second of the four series of publications containing the debates of Congress. It was preceded by the Annals of Congress and succeeded by the Congressional Globe. The Register of Debates is not a verbatim account of the proceedings, but rather a summary of debates of the period.

ProQuest Congressional

The Register of Debates - (Library of Congress American Memory project)

The Annals of Congress

Also known as The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States. The Annals cover the 1st Congress through the first session of the 18th Congress, from 1789 to 1824. The Annals were not published contemporaneously, but were compiled between 1834 and 1856, using records available, such as newspaper accounts. Speeches are paraphrased rather than presented verbatim.

ProQuest Congressional

Annals of Congress - (Library of Congress American Memory project)

Finding Information in the Congressional Record

The Congressional Record is divided into four sections: the proceedings and debates of the House and Senate, the Extensions of Remarks, and the Daily Digest, a summary of proceedings for that day in each house. Each section is paged continuously and separately during a session, and each page of each section has a letter prefix:

  • S (Senate)
  • H (House)
  • E (Extensions of Remarks)
  • D (Daily Digest)

The daily Record has an index composed of two parts, an index by subject and individual name to the proceedings and debates, and a History of Bills and Resolutions. The history is arranged by chamber and, within chamber, by bill and resolution number.

NOTE: The bound volumes of the Congressional Record are paginated differently than the daily volumes and there is no cross-referencing system. This is just something to keep in mind when you are researching a Congressional Record citation.

The daily edition is usually available the morning after that day's proceedings. The permanent or bound edition usually takes several years to be published after a congressional session ends. The Daily Digest is very helpful in finding particular proceedings in the Record, and it is generally the only place where most all hearings and committee actions are noted in the Record.