Home - CHEM 481 - Seminar (Spring 2024) - Research Guides at Texas A&M University

Howdy

Welcome to the University Libraries' CHEM 481 class guide. This guide brings together a number of library resources for your assignments. Please feel free to contact me if you have questions or need assistance with finding information. If you need help, our Help webpage has FAQs and ways to get in touch with us via chat, email, text, and phone. Feel free to schedule a research consultation for additional assistance.

Library Resources for CHEM 481

Search Web of Science to locate journal articles, conference papers, and other literature on a particular topic. Once you find an article in a database, click the "Find Text @ TAMU" to obtain the full-text or request through our Get It For Me service if the full text is not available.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation database that covers over 250 disciplines, including 7,100 science journals. Contains over 70 million citations and coverage is 1900-present.

If you already have a citation to a particular article, use our eJournals search on the library homepage to check online access or the Libraries Catalog under "Quick Links" on the library homepage for print.

Selected journals used for your first assignment.

Review Journals

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
Published in 2020, this replaces the ACS Style Guide and provides the latest information on formatting citations, preparing manuscripts, and other issues related to publishing and research.
ACS Style Guide
The old ACS Style Guide (2006). Only in print. Two copies on Reserves in the Library Annex (4-hour checkout) and in Evans Reference under call number QD8.5 .A25 2006
ACS Style Guide: Chapter 14 - References
Chapter 14 of the ACS Style Guide is freely available as a pdf. This chapter provides information on how to cite references.
The Craft of Scientific Writing
The Craft of Scientific Presentations
CAplus (SciFinder) Core Journal Coverage List
Provides a list of the 1,500 core journals in SciFinder, along with their abbreviations.
CASSI Search Tool
An online version of the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI). Used to decipher and create journal abbreviations according to the ACS style.
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI)
Print Only. CASSI provides the official journal abbreviations for the ACS style. The print was discontinued by CAS in 2010 and replaced by a more limited free version. See CASSI Search Tool.

EndNote allows you to manage and build bibliographies. It also takes citations downloaded from databases and converts them into a consistent format that matches almost any bibliographic style you might need. The Cite While You Write feature allows you to effortlessly transfer citations from your EndNote library into a Word document. When you finish your paper, your reference list and bibliography will be done.

Students, faculty, and staff can obtain a free copy of EndNote for personal use though Texas A&M Information Technology.
Go to the following URL to order your copy: https://software.tamu.edu.
Additional information about EndNote can be found on the Libraries' EndNote Subject Guide.

Here are the two URLs you need so that EndNote citations link to the full-text and to attach pdfs automatically:
EndNote -> Edit -> Preferences

OpenURL Path: https://proxy.library.tamu.edu/login?url=https://linkresolver.tamu.edu/tamu
Authenticate with URL: http://proxy.library.tamu.edu/login

Need a topic? You might browse some of the following websites and publications for ideas.