Skip to main content

Research Guides

EHRD 630 - Adult Learning

Databases Recommended

Database Searching TIPS
The interface of a database usually consists of three search boxes. If you are looking for articles about ADULT EDUCATION and THEORY & PRACTICE, enter each concept into each box:

TIPS #2 - Scholarly Sources and Full Text
Under LIMIT TO, select "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" boxes. With these two filters selected, the search will retrieve only the scholarly articles with full text available online.

TIPS #3 - Using the OR Connector 
The connector OR is a good way to expand a concept by connecting the synonyms or the related concepts. Usually the database will suggest the synonyms for you when you enter the first keyword and then type in or. For example, then you enter the word older , the database will suggest older adults or elderly or seniors. When you key in latino the database will suggest latino or latina or hispanic or mexican 

TIPS #4 - Title Searching
Putting a concept in Title field will help to focus on that concept and also let you filter through the results more efficiently. 

Required Texts

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Special Notes about eBooks: Most ebooks only allows 1-3 people to read it online simultaneously. Don't wait till the last week because you may not be able to get access to them.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

American Psychological Association (APA). (2009). Publication manual of the American psychological association. (APA). (6th ed.). (2nd printing). Washington, DC.: American Psychological Association.
[This book is available at TAMU Library. Call number: BF76.7 .P83 2010]

Merriam, S. B., & Associates (2007). Non-Western perspectives on learning and knowing. Malabar, FL: Krieger [ISBN13: 978-1-57524-208-4 & ISBN10: 1-57524-280-X].
[This book is available at TAMU Library. Call number: LB1060 .N66 2007 ]

Merriam, S. B., & Caffarella, R. S., & Baumgartner, L. M.  (2007). Learning in adulthood: A comprehensive guide (3rd edition). San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.
[The book is available online. ‚ÄčA printed copy is also available at TAMU Library. Call number:LC5225.L42 M47 2007]
*********************************************************************************************


Note: These texts are also available at the TAMU Memorial Student Center bookstore.

Librarian