Skip to main content

Research Guides

HIST481: Feminisms of Color-Professor Sarah McNamara (Spring 2017)

Intersections of race, ethnicity, class, and gender.


Publications of Interest

Liberation Theology in Chicana/O Literature - Alma Rosa Alvarez

Liberation Theology in Chicana/o Literature looks at the ways in which Chicana/o authors who have experienced cultural disconnection or marginalization because of their gender, gender politics and sexual orientation attempt to forge a connection back to Chicana/o culture through their use of liberation theology.

Reforming Fictions - Carol J. Batker

As Native, African, and Jewish American women gained access to education, developed women's clubs, and joined political organizations, they wrote to reform the nation, engaging themselves politically and creating a cross-cultural dialogue between journalism and fiction.

New Black Feminist Criticism, 1985-2000 - Barbara Christian

A passionate and celebrated pioneer in her own words New Black Feminist Criticism, 1985-2000 collects a selection of essays and reviews from Barbara Christian, one of the founding voices in black feminist literary criticism. Published between the release of her second landmark book Black Feminist Criticism and her death, these writings include eloquent reviews, evaluations of black feminist criticism as a discipline, reflections on black feminism in the academy, and essays on Toni Morrison, Alice Walker, Paule Marshall, and others.

Jayne Cortez, Adrienne Rich, and the Feminist Superhero

This book reconsiders the poetry activism of Jayne Cortez and Adrienne Rich side-by-side, engaging poetics theory, cultural studies, and popular media in its literary analyses.

Black Feminist Thought - Patricia Hill Collins

In spite of the double burden of racial and gender discrimination, African-American women have developed a rich intellectual tradition that is not widely known. In Black Feminist Thought, Patricia Hill Collins explores the words and ideas of Black feminist intellectuals as well as those African-American women outside academe. She provides an interpretive framework for the work of such prominent Black feminist thinkers as Angela Davis, bell hooks, Alice Walker, and Audre Lorde. The result is a superbly crafted book that provides the first synthetic overview of Black feminist thought.

Reading Black, Reading Feminist - Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

A unique and comprehensive collection of 26 literary essays that provides real evidence of the rich cultural history of black women in America. A penetrating look at women's writing from a unique perspective, this superb collection brings to light the rich heritage of literary creativity among African-American women.   

Levinas, Judaism, and the Feminine - Claire Elise Katz

Challenging previous interpretations of Levinas that gloss over his use of the feminine or show how he overlooks questions raised by feminists, Claire Elise Katz explores the powerful and productive links between the feminine and religion in Levinas's work. 

Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975 - Barbara J. Love

Documenting key feminists who ignited the second wave women's movement   Barbara J. Love's Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975 will be the first comprehensive directory to document many of the founders and leaders (including both well-known and grassroots organizers) of the second wave women's movement.  The biographical entries on these pioneering feminists represent their many factions, all parts of the country, all races and ethnic groups, and all political ideologies. 

Womanist and Black Feminist Responses to Tyler Perry's Productions - LeRhonda S. Manigault-Bryant

Tyler Perry has made over half a billion dollars through the development of storylines about black women, black communities and black religion. Yet, a text that responds to his efforts from the perspective of these groups does not exist.

Fashioning Diaspora - Vanita Reddy

In her insightful study, Fashioning Diaspora, Vanita Reddy carefully maps how transnational itineraries of Indian beauty and fashion shaped South Asian American cultural identities and racialized belonging from the 1990s through the first decade of the twenty-first century. 

Separate Roads to Feminism - Benita Roth

This examines the emergence of feminist movements from the Civil Rights/Black Liberation movement, the Chicano movement, and the white left in the 1960s and 1970s. The author argues that the 'second wave' was comprised of feminisms: organizationally distinct movements that influenced each other in complex ways. The making of second wave feminisms resulted from decisions that feminists made about their political choices given constraints that affected their activism.

Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature - Mary Ellen Snodgrass

An accessible one-volume encyclopedia, this addition to the Literary Movements series is a comprehensive reference guide to the history and development of feminist literature, from early fairy tales to works by great women writers of today. Focusing on the feminist works and writers that most often appear in high school and college curricula, ""Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature"" is the definitive resource for this movement.