Skip to main content

Research Guides

Film Studies

Journals

Education Journals Acceptance / Rejection Rates

  • Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
    • Contains acceptance rates, review process, and other info on 3000+ journals in the areas of Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Education, Library Science, and Psychology. The Educational Directories of Cabell include three categories: 
      • Educational Curriculum & Methods
      • Educational Psychology & Administration
      • Educational Technology & Library Science 
    • Covers Adult career, arts, audiology, bilingual, counseling, curriculum studies, education administration, educational psychology, educational technology, early childhood, English literature, foreign language, gifted children, health, higher education, language & linguistics, library science, reading, religious education, rural education, school law, science math, secondary studies, social science, special education, teacher education, test & measurement, and urban education.
  • A Compendium of Journals Published by the Family and Consumer Sciences Research Institute at Iowa State University 
    • Subject areas include family and consumer sciences, sociology, economics, education, psychology and more
  • Journal Acceptance Rates, Adult Education, Human Resource Management, Management & Leadership and more
  • American Psychology Association Journal Acceptance Rates
  • If you want to publish with Elsevier,   1) Enter your paper title, 2) Enter your paper abstract, 3) Select a Field of research, and 4) Submit.  Results will show - Match, Impact, Editorial Times, Acceptance Rate, Production Times, Embargo period...

Journal Citation Reports / Citation Analysis

  • Journal Citation Reports, Social Sciences 2001 
    • evaluates and compares journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Reports can show you: the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field and the largest journals in a field.
  • Scopus
    • Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, including coverage of 16,500 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical science. social sciences, arts and humanities.
  • SCimago Journal and Country Rank
    • A portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in Scopus. These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Data back to 1996 (Scopus).
  • Eigenfactor
    • Rating of the total importance of a scientific journal. Journals are rated according to the number of incoming citations, with citations from highly ranked journals weighted to make a larger contribution to the eigenfactor than those from poorly ranked journals.[2] As a measure of importance, the Eigenfactor score scales with the total impact of a journal. All else equal, journals generating higher impact to the field have larger Eigenfactor scores.
  • Terminologies: 
    • EF -- Eigenfactor score is intended to measure the importance of a journal to the scientific community, by considering the origin of the incoming citations, and is thought to reflect how frequently an average researcher would access content from that journal
    • AI -- The Article Influence score measures the average influence of articles in the journal, and is therefore comparable to the ISI impact factor. 
    • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eigenfactor

Impact Factor (journal impact) / SJR (journal impact) / H-Index (scholar productivity)

  • Impact Factor is ISI's way to determine the citation impact of a JOURNAL. It measures the average number of citations published in academic journals. How IF is calculated? 
    • 2008 impact factor = A/B.
    • A = the number of times articles published in 2006 and 2007 were cited by indexed journals during 2008. B = the total number of "citable items" published by that journal in 2006 and 2007. "Citable items" are usually articles, reviews, proceedings or notes; not editorials or Letters-to-the-Editor. Note that 2008 impact factors are actually published in 2009. Other related indexes to measure journal citation impact include the immediacy index: the number of citations the articles in a journal receive in a given year divided by the number of articles published; the the cited half-life: the median age of the articles that were cited in Journal Citation Reports each year. Information source Wikipedia.
    • To determine the citation impact factor of a journal
      • Go to Web of Science > Additional Resources > JOURNAL CITATION REPORTS > enter YEAR, A JOURNAL or A GROUP OF JOURNALS> see the report.
  • SJR (SCImago Journal Rank)
    • SJR is a new indicator to measure "scientific influence of scholarly journals that accounts for both the number of citations received by a journal and the importance or prestige of the journals where such citations come from" <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SCImago_Journal_Rank>.
    • To determine the SJR of a journal:
      • Go to Scopus database > click on JOURNAL ANALYSER > enter a journal name> see its SJR, SNIP, CITATION.
      • See also SCimago Journal and Country Rank and the tab "Scenarios of Journals" for some examples.
  • H-Index
    • H-Index attempts to measure both the productivity and impact of the publications of a scholar. The H-index count "is based on a list of publications ranked in descending order by the Times Cited count" <quoted from the "Web of Science Help" page>.  A H-index of 5 means the scholar has 5 papers each of which has been cited 5+ times.
    • To determine your H Index:
      • Go to Web of Science > enter your name and name variants in AUTHOR field > From your search results page, click on CREATE CITATION REPORT > and then locate your H Index in the report
      • Go to Scopus > select AUTHOR SEARCH > enter LAST NAME, INITIALS OR FIRST NAME, AFFILIATION > select all entries by the same author > click on VIEW CITATION OVERVIEW > Locate the H Index or the H Graph in the Overview.
  • See the tab "Scenarios of Journals" for other methods of impact analysis.

Works or Authors Cited

  • Web of Science   
    • Nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide including Open Access journals with coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Once you log in, select "Social Sciences Citation Index" (part of Web of Science) which covers all areas of social science. Tracks citing and cited articles. (1956-present).
  •  Scopus
    • Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, including coverage of 16,500 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical science. social sciences, arts and humanities.
  • Google Scholar
    • Search for the title of a given paper, and then click on the "Cited by" link at the bottom of the search result.
  • Annual Reviews
    • A multidisciplinary database. You can re-rank search results by Most Cited or Most downloaded. It will also shows Frequent Authors, Frequent Journals and Frequent Keywords.

Scenarios of Journal/Author/Institution Output Analysis

Loading ...

More Journals

Journal Self Cites      

  • Journal Self Cites
    • For example - Sport Education and Society
    • Log in to Web of Science > Select Select "Additional Resources >Essential Science Indicators> Submit> Enter a full journal title or title word>  Sport Education and Society > Cited Journal Data > Journal Self Cites
  • How to Calculate the Self-Citing Rate for a Journal?
  1. Access a Journal page.  For example - Sport Education and Society. Log in to Web of Science > Select Select "Additional Resources >Essential Science Indicators> Submit> Enter a full journal title or title word>  Sport Education and Society.
  2. Click the Citing Journal Data button to display the Citing Journal Table.
  3. Look in the All Journals row at the top of the table. Write down the value that appears in the All Years column.
  4. In the Cited Journal column, find the title that matches the title of the Citing Journal. Write down the value that appears in the All Years column
  5. Divide the total number of times the journal cited itself (step 4) by the number of total cites (step 3) and multiply by 100. The result is the percent of references in the journal to articles published in the same journal.
  • Calculate the Self-Cited Rate for a Journal
  1. Access a Journal page. Log in to Web of Science > Select Select Additional Resources >Essential Science Indicators> Submit> Enter a full journal title or title word>  Sport Education and Society.
  2. Click the Cited Journal Data button to display the Cited Journal Table.
  3. Look in the All Journals row at the top of the table. Write down the value that appears in the All Years column.
  4. In the Citing Journal column, find the title that matches the title of the Cited Journal. Write down the value that appears in the All Years column.
  5. Divide the total number of times the journal cited itself (step 4) by the number of total cites received (step 3) and multiply by 100. The result is the percent of all references to the journal from articles published in the same journal.

Online Availability (journals in specific databases) / Peer-reviewed Journals

  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
    • Contains basic journal information including whether it is peer-reviewed or not.  To find out whether a given journal is available in a database, click on its Online Availability category.

Publisher's Copyright Policies & Self-archiving

  • SHERPA/RoMEO
    • A searchable database that allow you to look up publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories. The database contains publishers' general policies on self-archiving of journal articles. Each entry provides a summary of the publisher's policy, including what version of an article can be deposited, where it can be deposited, and any conditions that are attached to that deposit.

Topic Trends, Frequent Keywords, Frequent Journals, Frequent Authors etc.

  • Do a search in any Proquest database.  Look at the "PUBLICATION DATE" bar graphs based on the keywords you just entered. Each bar will show the number of articles published within a decade. The change of the graphs reveals the trends of a given topic or subject.
  • Annual Reviews 
    • A multidisciplinary database. You can re-rank search results by Most Cited or Most downloaded. The database also has a way to show Frequent Authors, Frequent Journals and Frequent Keywords.
Loading ...