Skip to main content
Finding Articles & Reviews
General Indexes to Scholarly Literature For Classics
- L'Annee philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquite greco-latine
- This index covers all aspects of Classical studies, and although it is a French index, it covers many titles in English. Evans contains the print index at PA9 .A55.
- Brill's New Pauly Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. Consists of Der Neue Pauly and Brill's New Pauly.
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum: Online version of the CVA. Has advanced search capabilities
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: Digitized versions of all extant Greek texts from Homer to the fall of Byzantium.
- Web of Science
- Electronic version of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index. Covers only the top journals of the included fields. Contains book reviews. Access to 1966.
- Wilson Periodical Indexes
- H. W. Wilson Co. publishes several indexes and databases of interest including: Humanities, Social Sciences, Book Review Digest, for scholarly materials, and the Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature for general interest topics. All Wilson databases can be searched individually or in combination (some browsers require the user to scroll down for all options). Electronic access for most Wilson resources only goes back to the 1980s. However, the "Reader's Guide Retrospective" and "Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective" both index popular and scholarly periodicals from the late 19th century and offer excellent access to primary source material for most of the 20th century. NOTE: Please be aware that this link goes to the Wilson OmniFile as the default search. To search other Wilson indexes, de-select the OmniFile and select the desired resource(s).
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
- Scholarly literature in Medieval and Renaissance history.
- BREPOLiS Medieval Bibliographies
- Scholarly literature on Medieval topics. This resource includes access to Brepol's International Medieval Bibliography - Online (IMB), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and International Directory of Medievalists. A partial print version of the IMB is available in the Reference Department.
- Academic Search Complete: EBSCO
- A general database similar to WilsonWeb. Covers general and scholarly periodicals for the past twenty-five years. Contains many full-text articles.
- Digital Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) includes records (including some full text) of master’s theses and doctoral dissertations written at most American research universities (and selected international institutions) since the mid-nineteenth century. Most entries are from American universities, but an increasing number of international institutions are being added to this resource.
- An electronic full-text archive of the major journals in History as well as other social, behavioral, and physical sciences. While JSTOR has complete retrospective collections of journals, the most current (three to five years, depending on title) will not be available.
- Project MUSE
- A collection of electronic journals in the humanities and liberal arts. Unlike JSTOR, which has complete retrospective runs, MUSE holds current journal titles. The older issues of selected MUSE journals are electronically available through JSTOR.
- History Cooperative
- A collaborative effort between some of the largest and most respected scholarly and professional organizations in History to bring their respective journals into the electronic realm. This resource contains current full-text material from titles including: American Historical Review, Journal of American History, William & Mary Quarterly, Western Historical Quarterly, Labour History, et al. Access is provided by the Texas A&M University Libraries.