Skip to main content
Primary Resource Databases
Primary Resource Databases (Most are Full-Text)
- Early English Books Online is a collection of electronic texts from some of the earliest published books in the English language. The collection is based on Pollard and Redgrave’s “Short Title Catalogue” and Donald Wing’s bibliography; roughly covering a time period from 1475 to 1700. Over 125,000 titles are currently included with more being added regularly.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
- This is a massive digitization project that when complete will allow electronic access to circa 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 (predominately in Britain). Segments to be included are: History and Geography; Social Science; Fine Arts, Music, Art & Architecture; Medicine, Science, & Technology; Literature and Language; Religion and Philosophy; and Law.
- Early American Imprints, Series 1. Evans (1639-1800)
- Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography, this digital project contains works published in North America (especially in the colonies that later became the United States) during the 17th- and 18th- centuries. This remarkable undertaking offers a comprehensive look at all aspects of life in Colonial and Early Republic times.
- Early American Imprints, Series 2. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1820)
- A continuation of the Evans’ Bibliography by Shaw and Shoemaker. Contains similar types of resources as Evans’ for the first two decades of the 19th century.
- American Periodical Series (APS) Online
- A selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Making of the Modern World
- Also known as the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, this resource provides digital facsimile images of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
- A database of electronic texts from over 2000 classic works of French language and literature from ca. 1300 to the present day.
- 19th Century Masterfile
- Originally an electronic version of W.F. Poole’s Index to Nineteenth Century Literature, this database has expanded to cover a wide variety of sources from the 1800s. Many of the popular periodical titles from the nineteenth century are covered here. This database has recently added selected full-text items.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (Wilson)
- Part of the WilsonWeb, this index (no full text) contains citations to articles in popular magazines and journals from 1890-1982.
- Eighteenth Century Journals II
- The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center holds one of the finest collections of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals in the world, and it was from here that items for Eighteenth Century Journals II were selected. These holdings were documented in ‘British Newspapers and Periodicals, 1632-1800’, compiled by Powell Stewart in 1950. More recent acquisitions have further enhanced these collections.
Additional Primary Sources
- Acta Sanctorum (Chadwyck Healey) The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
- Patrologia Latina (Chadwyck Healey)The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).