The electronic resources listed herein are those most frequently used for research in English language and literature. There are many more valuable sources available in print from the Texas A&M University General Libraries. Access is available from anywhere in the tamu.edu domain (including campus, dial-up via TAMUnet or by using the proxy server).
- MLA International Bibliography: Online 1920s - present
- International coverage of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore indexed from over 4,000 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
- An electronic index of critical articles and book reviews on language and literature in English back to 1892. The print index of article citations on English language and literature covers published articles from 1920 to present.
- Web of Science
- Electronic version of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index. Covers only the top journals of the included fields. Contains book reviews. Access to 1966.
- Wilson Periodical Indexes
- H. W. Wilson Co. publishes several indexes and databases of interest including: Humanities, Social Sciences, Book Review Digest, for scholarly materials, and the Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature for general interest topics. All Wilson databases can be searched individually or in combination (some browsers require the user to scroll down for all options). Electronic access for most Wilson resources only goes back to the 1980s. However, the "Reader's Guide Retrospective" and "Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective" both index popular and scholarly periodicals from the late 19th century and offer excellent access to primary source material for most of the 20th century. NOTE: Please be aware that this link goes to the Wilson OmniFile as the default search. To search other Wilson indexes, de-select the OmniFile and select the desired resource(s). Other Wilson databases of note include:
- Book Review Digest Plus: online 1983 - present.
- Over 8000 books are covered by the database each year.
- Essay & General Literature Index: online 1985 - present
- Emphasizes the humanities and social sciences, and provides access to thousands of articles and essays. Subjects covered range from history, economics, psychology, religion and political science to folklore, film, music, drama, and literature.
- Academic Search Complete: EBSCO
- A general database similar to WilsonWeb. Covers general and scholarly periodicals for the past twenty-five years. Contains many full-text articles.