Skip to main content

Research Guides

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror

Resources

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database

This is the electronic incarnation of Hal W. Hall’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Index (including all 3 volumes plus updates). It covers all aspects of science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural and weird fiction including criticism, commentary, reviews and some fan material from over 100 mainstream, literary and science fiction sources, mainly in English. There are currently over 50,000 items included, dating from 1878 to present.

Reference Sources

  • Anatomy of wonder: a critical guide to science fiction, edited by Neil Barron. 3rd ed. New York: Bowker, 1987. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN3433.8 .A53 1995
  • Science fiction writers: critical studies of the major authors from the early nineteenth century to the present day, E.F. Bleiler, editor. New York: Scribner, 1982. Evans Library stacks PS374 S35 S36 1982 Burgess, Michael.
  • Reference guide to science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1992. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN3433.5 .B87 1992
  • The Encyclopedia of science fiction, edited by John Clute and Peter Nicholls ; contributing editor Brian Stableford. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1993. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN3433.4 .E53 1995 Contento, William.
  • Index to science fiction anthologies and collections. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1978. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PS374.S35 C65 Justice, Keith L.
  • Science fiction, fantasy, and horror reference: an annotated bibliography of works about literature and film. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1989. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN3433.5 J86 1989
  • Survey of science fiction literature: five hundred 2,000-word essay reviews of world-famous science fiction novels with 2,500 bibliographical references, by Frank N. Magill. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1979. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN3448.S45 S88
  • New England Science Fiction Association. The N.E.S.F.A. Index: science fiction magazines and original anthologies. Cambridge, MA. New England Science Fiction Association, 1976. Cushing Library/Science Fiction (Does not circulate) Z5917.S36 I55 Reginald, R.
  • Science fiction and fantasy literature: a checklist, 1700-1974; 1975-1991. Detroit: Gale Research, 1979. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN3448.S45 R44 1979
  • The science fiction reference book: a comprehensive handbook and guide to the history , literature, scholarship, and related activities of the science fiction and fantasy fields, edited by Marshall B. TymnMercer Island, WA: Starmont House, 1981. Cushing Library/Science Fiction (Does not circulate) PN3433.5 .S33 Wolfe, Gary K.
  • Critical terms for science fiction and fantasy: a glossary and guide to scholarship. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN3435 .W64 1986
  • Film Literature Index. Albany, Filmdex, inc. This quarterly publication is an author-subject index to the international literature of film. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN1993.5.A1 F516
  • López, Daniel. Films by genre: 775 categories, styles, trends, and movements defined, with a filmography for each. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., c1993. Reference (Evans Library 1st floor) PN1998 .L63 1993

There are a number of other author-specific resources, most of which are accessible via LibCat. For example, Hispanic Literature Criticism, Black Literature Criticism, Twentieth Century British Literature: A Reference Guide and Bibliography, and Masterplots II: British and Commonwealth Fiction Series.

  • Dictionary of Literary Biography
    • A valuable place to start when doing research on an author. It provides personal background, a bibliography, brief critique of the body of their work and contributions to the fields, as well as locations of major collections. PN 451 .D53.
  • Contemporary Authors
    • Provides an overview of an author, as well as additional biographical and critical resources to consult. PN 451 .C6.
  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index
    • An index of indices, providing coverage of Biography Index, Who’s Who, Contemporary Authors and other biographical sources. CT120 .B56.

Full-Text Resources Available

  • Digital Dissertations and Theses
    • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) includes records (including some full text) of master’s theses and doctoral dissertations written at most American research universities (and selected international institutions) since the mid-nineteenth century. Most entries are from American universities, but an increasing number of international institutions are being added to this resource.
  • JSTOR
    • An electronic full-text archive of the major journals in History as well as other social, behavioral, and physical sciences. While JSTOR has complete retrospective collections of journals, the most current (three to five years, depending on title) will not be available.
  • Project MUSE
    • A collection of electronic journals in the humanities and liberal arts. Unlike JSTOR, which has complete retrospective runs, MUSE holds current journal titles. The older issues of selected MUSE journals are electronically available through JSTOR.

Entries excerpted from: Arant, Wendi and Hal W. Hall. “Science Fiction and Fantasy: A Guide to Resources on the Web.” College and Research Libraries News 63.9 (October 2002).

The Locus Magazine Web Page is perhaps the best first place to check when looking for science fiction and fantasy information on the web. It includes fairly comprehensive access to scholarly resources for research with the Locus Index to Science Fiction, including a number of valuable reference sources with the including Brown and Contento’s the Locus Index to Science Fiction from 1984 to 2002; the Index to Science Fiction Anthologies and Collections, Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Weird Fiction Magazine Checklist, Mystery Short Fiction: 1990-2000 and the listing of  Locus Awards.

The SF Site - The Best in Science Fiction and Fantasy, updated on a monthly basis, is a good source of current information and news on books and other SFF media, featuring reviews and interviews of contemporary authors, readings lists and links to fan sites, newsgroups and zines. In addition, the Internet Speculative Fiction DataBase, provides bibliographic control of more than 100,000 titles (with an admitted emphasis on text creations) searchable by name, title, year or series. The ISFDB is a good starting point to get an overview of an author’s work, but should be supplemented by other sources.

Science Fiction Resource Guide from SF-Lovers is one of the more useful resources on the web as well as being one of those more long-term sites. It contains links to archives and mailing lists, science fiction artists, authors, awards, bibliographies and bookstores, conventions and comics, fiction and movie resources, reviews and criticism, role-playing and other SF-related gaming, television and program guides. It also provides one of the more complete list of links to fandom sites.

International Association of the Fantastic in the Arts maintains a web site focused mainly on member-exclusive information with conference and journal information. While the content is fairly sparse, it does contain a listing of links “of interest to teachers and scholars of the fantastic” and bibliographic information on items appearing in Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts.

Science Fiction Research Association may be brief in its content, but it takes a more scholarly approach to science fiction, offering calls for papers, conference information, links to SFRA Review and publishing guidelines, and news items of import.

Loading ...