Useful keywords/subject terms:
adult education, adult learning, adult students, Older people--Education; aging and learning or your own keywords.
TIPS: Use the call number to locate the needed books. Use the "Show me where this is" link to find out which floor the book is located.
Note: The number of simultaneous users for a particular ebook depends on the number of copies purchased which varies by title.
EBSCO eBook Collection provides access to over 52,000 ebooks.
Alternate titles: NetLibrary ; EBSCO e-Book collection; Net Library
Published by: EBSCO Publishing (Databases)
This first truly comprehensive interdisciplinary, international critique of theory and practice in lifelong learning as it relates to later life is an absolute tour de force. Alexandra Withnall, Universities of Warwick and Leicester, UK.This is a book that needed to be written: it provides a most thorough and skilful analysis of a comprehensive range of contemporary literature about learning in later life from many localities and countries of the world.Peter Jarvis, Professor Emeritus, University of SurreyImpressive in its scope this handbook seeks to describe older learning critically within the lifelong learning literature at the same time that it makes a strong and persuasive case for taking older learning seriously in our postmodern world.Kenneth Wain, University of MaltaLifelong learning in later life is an essential handbook for a wide range of people who work alongside older adults in varied contexts. This handbook brings together both orthodox approaches to educational gerontology and fresh perspectives on important emerging issues faced by seniors around the globe. Issues discussed include the social construction of ageing, the importance of lifelong learning policy and practice, participation in later life learning, education of marginalised groups within older communities, inter-generational learning, volunteering and 'active ageing', the political economy of older adulthood, learning for better health and well-being, and the place of seniors in a learning society.Brian Findsen is a professor of adult education, Faculty of Education, University of Waikato, Hamilton, New Zealand. His writings are usually constructed within a social justice framework such as The Fourth Sector: Adult and Community Education in Aotearoa New Zealand (edited with John Benseman and Miriama Scott in 1996) and Learning later (2005).Marvin Formosa is a lecturer in the European Centre for Gerontology, University of Malta, Msida, Malta. In addition to various articles focusing on critical educational gerontology, recent and forthcoming books include Social Class Dynamics in Later Life (2009) and Social Class in Later Life: Power, Identity and Lifestyle (with Paul Higgs, 2012).
Adult Development and Aging
by Susan Krauss Whitbourne
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
This completely updated third edition guides readers through the art of successful aging. Leading aging expert Susan Krauss Whitbourne focuses on how individuals can take an active role in their aging processes and make it a rewarding developmental period, filled with vitality and creativity. Written in a more conversational style, the book combines research and applied perspectives, providing an even balance between biological, social, cognitive, and personality theory as it relates to adulthood and aging.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by American Psychological Association Staff
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.