Skip to main content

Research Guides

Genetics

Encyclopedia of Genetics

Includes relatively short articles covering the wide variety of disciplines that use genetic principles as a part of their scientific foundation.

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics

Covers the wide variety of disciplines that use genetic principles as a part of their scientific foundation.

Genetics: analysis of genes and genomes

An introduction to genetics and genomics at the college level- genetic evolution, transmission genetics, molecular genetics, and evolutionary genetics, basic process of gene transmission, mutation, expression, and regulation.

Jackson Laboratory Handbook on Genetically Standardized Mice

6th edition.
Available in PDF: http://jaxmice.jax.org/literature/handbook.html

Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine, 8e

Foundations of Medicine II - recommended

Medical Genetics, 5e

Foundations of Medicine II - required

Genetics, Genomics, and Breeding in Soybean

Bridging traditional research with modern molecular investigations on soybean, this volume explores the recent advances in soybean genome mapping, molecular breeding, genomics, sequencing, and bioinformatics. The book will be useful to soybean researchers as well as researchers working with other crop species.

Genetics, Genomics and Breeding of Conifers

Topics in this book include cytogenetics, patterns of nucleotide diversity, genetic mapping, integration of molecular markers in breeding, transcriptomics, advances in proteomics and metabolomics in gymnosperms, and economic importance.

Genetics, Genomics and Breeding of Sugarcane

Sugarcane is a hybrid of two species, each of which is genetically complex. The high level of genetic complexity in sugarcane creates challenges in the application of both conventional and molecular breeding to the genetic improvement of sugarcane as a sugar and energy crop. This book describes technologies that support the continued use and improvement of sugarcane as source of food and energy.

Clinical Genetics

This ABC is a concise, highly illustrated introduction to genetic mechanisms involved in inherited disorders. Basic genetic concepts are explained along with the application of new technologies in clinical practice. Information on relevant web sites are also included along with recommended texts for further reading.

Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders

The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders addresses the need for current, hard-to-find facts on these emerging discoveries. The 2-vol. Encyclopedia provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.

Book jacket cover image

Cancer Cytogenetics

Authoritative coverage of neoplastic processes at the chromosomal level of genomic organization. Now updated and expanded, this new edition includes detailed information on the most recent advances in the field, incorporating a vast amount of new cytogenetic as well as molecular genetic data from the latest basic and clinical investigations.

Conservation Genetics in the Age of Genomics

By introducing a new paradigm for studying and preserving life at a variety of levels, genomics offers solutions to previously intractable problems in understanding the biology of complex organisms and creates new tools for preserving the patterns and processes of life on this planet. .

The Dictionary of Gene Technology

More than 6000 technical terms with  explanations and illustrations accompany the terms; elucidates synonyms, acronyms and jargon; cross-references.

Encyclopedia of Genetics

This two-volume set provides a thorough coverage of the basics of genetics from historical, scientific and social issues perspectives. This revised edition adds more than 60 new overview essays and 26 new sidebars to the original entries, reflecting the rapid developments in this branch of science.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics, and Proteomics

Includes a vast range of terms and concepts dealing with biochemistry, cell and developmental biology, immunology, hereditary diseases, and molecular evolution, through to the state-of-the-art in genomics and proteomics. The nearly 25,000 alphabetically arranged entries are explained in a concise yet detailed manner, including ample cross-references, literature citations, databases, tables, and illustrations.

Essentials of Medical Genomics

Practical, concise summary of everything about genomics and emerging technologies a busy physician or medical student should know from bioinformatics to DNA diagnostics and proteomics. Includes chapter-end exercises and PowerPoint slides of images available at instructor website

Evolutionary Conservation Genetics

The book thoroughly reviews the arguments for a role of genetics in the present biodiversity crisis. It describes the methods used to studygenetic variation in endangered species and examines the influence of genetic variation in the extinction of species.

Genetic Analysis

In Genetic Analysis, one of the most important empirical scientists in the field in the twentieth century attempts, through a study of history and drawing on his own vast experience as a practitioner, to face this paradox head-on. His book offers a deep and innovative understanding of our ways of thinking about heredity.

Genomics of Disease

This title develops from the 24th Stadler symposium. It explores the general theme "GENOME EXPLOITATION: Data Mining the Genomes". The idea behind the theme is to discuss and illustrate how scientists are going to characterize and make use of the massive amount of information being accumulated about plant and animal genomes.

In Pursuit of the Gene

James Schwartz presents the history of genetics through the eyes of a dozen or so central players, beginning with Charles Darwin and ending with Nobel laureate Hermann J. Mueller. In tracing the emerging idea of the gene, the book deconstructs many often-told stories.

Nutrition and Genomics

This book brings together experts in ethics, law, regulatory analysis, and communication studies to identify and address relevant issues in the emerging field of nutritional genomics.

The Gene Knockout

Using an easy-to-follow format and drawing from meticulous research, the Factsbooks will keep you up-to-date with the latest advances in structure, amino acid sequences, physicochemical properties, and biological activity. The Gene Knockout FactsBook contains entries, grouped into subject disciplines, covering immunology, neurobiology, development, cancer, and other knockouts

The Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders and Birth Defects

A most comprehensive single-volume reference to congenital disorders and birth defects with more than 1,000 expertly written entries -  extensive appendixes providing updated tables of statistics and directories of service and support groups, and a concise introductory history of human genetics.

The Genetics of Obesity Syndromes

By examining the genetic mechanisms of obesity in these syndromes, the authors will shed new light on the genetics of common obesity. This is the first book on this important and exciting new area and addresses both the molecular and clinical features of theobesity syndromes, providing hard-core information for researchers and practical guidelines for clinicians caring for obese patients.

World of Genetics

This comprehensive, two-volume reference source focuses on the scientific discoveries being made within the branch of biology that deals with heredity, the mechanisms of hereditary transmission and the variation of inherited characteristics among organisms, with approximately 650 entries In a convenient A-Z format, indexes and cross-reference headings, and is written in easy to understand language.

eBooks