Our goal is to facilitate the study of cross-species comparisons using information generated from projects supported by public funds. Gramene currently hosts annotated whole genomes in over two dozen plant species and partial assemblies for almost a dozen wild rice species in the Ensembl browser, genetic and physical maps with genes, ESTs and QTLs locations, genetic diversity data sets, structure-function analysis of proteins, plant pathways databases (BioCyc and Plant Reactome platforms), and descriptions of phenotypic traits and mutations.
CottonGen is a new cotton community genomics, genetics and breeding database being developed to enable basic, translational and applied research in cotton. It is being built using the open-source Tripal database infrastructure.
CottonGen will initially consolidate the data from CottonDB and the Cotton Marker Database, which includes sequences, genetic and physical maps, genotypic and phenotypic markers and polymorphisms, QTLs, pathogens, germplasm collections and trait evaluations, pedigrees, and relevant bibliographic citations. It will be expanded to include annotated transcriptome, genome sequence, marker-trait-locus and breeding data, as well as enhanced tools for easy querying and visualizing research data. It will facilitate community communication and collaboration through housing the ICGI website, forums and mailing lists. This project is funded by Cotton Incorporated, the USDA-ARS Crop Germplasm Research Unit at College Station, TX, the Southern Association of Agricultural Experiment Station Directors, Bayer CropScience, Dow/Phytogen, Monsanto and Washington State University.
The mission of the U.S. Department of Energy Joint Genome Institute (DOE JGI), a DOE Office of Science User Facility operated by Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Berkeley Lab) and part of the Biosciences Area, is to advance genomics in support of the DOE missions related to clean energy generation and environmental characterization and cleanup.
Supported by the DOE Office of Science, the DOE JGI unites the expertise at Berkeley Lab, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and the HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology. Located in Walnut Creek, California, the DOE JGI is operated by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy and the facility provides integrated high-throughput sequencing, DNA design and synthesis, metabolomics and computational analysis that enable systems-based scientific approaches to these challenges. Download a one-page (front and back) 2016 DOE JGI fact sheet.
The Germplasm Resources Information Network (GRIN) web server provides germplasm information about plants, animals, microbes and invertebrates important for food and agricultural production. These include lists of currently registered cultivars, historical seed and varietal catalogs, and related resources.
GRIN provides National Genetic Resources Program (NGRP) personnel and germplasm users continuous access to databases for the maintenance of passport, characterization, evaluation, inventory, and distribution data important for the effective management and utilization of national germplasm collections.