Psychiatry
Required & Recommended Textbooks
- Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry, 7e, 2021Print copies available on Reserve in MSL@College Station.
Case Studies
- StatPearls This link opens in a new windowThis online question bank covers nursing, pharmacy, physician assistant, EMS-EMT Basic, family medicine, radiology technology and USMLE Step 1, Step 2 and Step 3 prep.
** Tip: Click the Question Banks dropdown on the left, then "Quiz Builder" to see a list of question banks.
- Case Files. Psychiatry, 6e, 2021Connect to Case Files and Review Questions (Free individual registration required)
- Psychiatry PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, 15e, 2021Case study questions have corresponding answers, a reference to a text providing background for the answer, and a short discussion of issues raised by the question and answer.
Clerkship Study Ebooks
- First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship, 6e, 2022Detailed case studies, topic reviews, and proven test-taking strategies
- Lange Q & A Psychiatry, 11e, 2017Also, print copies available in MSL@Bryan, MSL@Round Rock, MSL@Temple, and MSL@Temple Reserve
- Psychiatry Board Review, 1e, 2017Print copy available in MSL@Temple Reserve
Procedures
- Alexander Street Counseling & Therapy in VideoOver 1380 videos allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling. Many videos include supplementary materials to aid in classroom discussions and assignments.
Evidence Based Medicine
Other Resources/Databases/Videos
- APA PsycTestsMetadata allows you to instantly find and download instruments for research and/or teaching.
- Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window The Books@Ovid database includes over 390 full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics. Alternate titles: Books at Ovid Published by: Ovid Technologies, Inc.
- JoVE. Science education. Psychology (videos)Provides a framework for observing how psychological experiments are embedded in the actual research process
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR® ”the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world”and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing. Published by: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
- VisualDX This link opens in a new windowA Web and mobile enabled visual clinical decision support system used to build a differential by selecting symptoms and other parameters. View descriptions of possible matches, critical alerts, and images to support selection of the best diagnosis.
General Books - Psychiatry
- American Psychiatric Association Handbooks(APA PsychNet)
- The Complete Researcher : a practical guide for graduate students and early career professionals, 1e, 2024Print copy available from Evans Library
BF76.5 .H66 2024 - EMDR Therapy Primer, 3e, 2020(Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing)
- Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry, 7e, 2021Also, print copies available on Reserve in MSL@College Station and MSL@Temple.
- Principles and Practice of Stress Management, 4e, 2021Print copy available in MSL@College Station
WM 172 P957 2021 - Principles of Behavioral Neuroscience, 1e, 2023Print copy available in Evans Library
QP360 .H674 2023