Skip to main content

Research Guides

PSYC 107h Intro to Psychology (honors)

Core Psychology Databases

PsycINFO is the primary database covering scholarly literature in psychology.  When you search PsycINFO, you are actually searching content within the other three core databases listed below. 

Click on the database name below to begin your search.

  • PsycINFO (EBSCO)  
    Core resource for all areas of psychology; over 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed with coverage starting in 1880s. Includes citations & abstracts for articles, books, books chapters, conference papers, and selected dissertations.
  • PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) 
    Full run of over 100 full-text, peer-reviewed psychology journals; citations & abstracts are included in PsycINFO, which link back to the full-text in PsycARTICLES.
  • PsycBOOKS (EBSCO) 
    Over 4,000 full-text, current and historical scholarly books and 65,000 book chapters in all areas of psychology, both practical and theoretical. Citations & abstracts are included in PsycINFO, which link back to the full-text in PsycBOOKS.‚Äč

Additional Databases

With the exception of MEDLINE, these databases cover multiple subject areas within the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, including psychology and the behavioral sciences.  Useful for finding articles in journals not covered by PsycINFO.

  • Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) 
    Provides full-text access to articles in over 6,000 scholarly journals in all areas of social sciences, sciences, and humanities -- including psychology and other behavioral sciences.
  • MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) 
    Full-text coverage for over 1,700 biomedical journals going back to 1865 in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and more.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection 
    Full text coverage for nearly 400 journals in psychology and related fields.
  • Scopus (Elsevier) 
    Covers peer-reviewed journals and quality web resources in sciences, social sciences, and health sciences disciplines including psychology; provides # of times cited and article reference lists. Also provides tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
  • Web of Science (Thomson Reuters) 
    Web of Science (WoS) is one of the resources on the search platform and includes Social Sciences Citation Index (psychology journals), and Science Citation Index (neuroscience journals) which cover the most heavily cited journals in these fields of study. Shows how many times an article has been cited by other authors; and displays the article reference lists. Provides tools to create a citation report analyzing search results.

Searching the Psychology Journal Literature

Time-Saving Research Tips

Instead of searching Google to find articles on your topic, it is much more efficient to search a database which covers a collection of journals matching the field or discipline that you are researching.  

Most databases include:

  • citations (journal name, article title, authors, volume and issue numbers, page range, year published) and 
  • abstracts (short summary of each article in journals covered by the database) 

Search the databases below to find scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles in the field of psychology.  Many databases also include citations and abstracts for books, book chapters, conference papers, and dissertations.

Tips for Accessing Full Text

Full-Text Journal Articles

  1. Use PDF or HTML links to access full-text (if provided as part of the content within the database).
  2. Use "Linked Full Text" option if PDF not available.
  3. Otherwise, use the yellow Find Text @ TAMU button which executes a search against the list of TAMU Libraries' online journal subscriptions.
  4. If full-text is not available online, do a "journal title" search in LibCat to check for a print subscription.
  5. If no electronic or print copy is available, use our free Get it for Me service (TAMU Libraries will try to obtain a free copy from another library in Texas or the U.S.).