Skip to main content

Research Guides

English 104-Rebecca Hankins-Fall 2017

Citations and Scholarly Evaluation Tools

General Resource Links

  • Ad*Access 
    • An image database of over 7000 advertisements from US and Canadian printed materials from the 1910s to the 1950s.  Most cover subjects related to travel and transportation, health and beauty, and mass communications. 
  • American Memory
    • A digital museum of some of America’s treasures. This collection includes images on topics ranging from the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) to minorities to sports from the Library of Congress. 
  • Brooklyn Daily Eagle 1841-1902
    • Full text newspaper from Brooklyn, NY. 
  • Center for History and New Media
    • Exciting projects and collections combining the study of the past with the technology of the present. 
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    • Project from the Library of Congress to digitize selected issues of US newspapers.  Content is currently limited to just a few issues from a handful of states, but projected to increase. 
  • Colonial Williamsburg’s Digital Library
    • Selected digital materials from one of the earliest Anglo settlements.  Includes the newspaper, Virginia Gazette (1736-1780).
  • Documenting the American South
    • A project to collect and digitize materials, including slave narratives, relating to the history of the southeastern US; from the University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill.
  • DoHistory
    • A website related to Laurel Ulrich Thatcher’s prize-winning book, A Midwife’s Tale, based on the diary of Martha Ballard.
  • Making of America
  • National Archives and Records Administration
    • The site of the official archives of the United States of America, charged with collecting and preserving the important documents of the nation.
  • Wisconsin Historical Society
    • An excellent repository of historical materials beyond that state’s borders.
  • Valley of the Shadow
    • Pioneering digital project at the University of Virginia that examined two communities (one North, the other South) during the Civil War.
Loading ...