Skip to main content

Research Guides

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Chat With Us


E-Journal Search

RefWorks Login



Create Account

Forgot Login?

Standards

Engineers frequently use standards in their design work.  Here is a link to our Standards Page, which has everything you need to know about using standards and obtaining standards through the Texas A&M Libraries.

Patent Research

Patents contain much useful information for engineers, and much engineering research can result in patentable inventions.  Here is a link to our Patent Research Page, which has everything you need to know about finding patents through the Texas A&M Libraries.

Company and Industry Research

Engineers often need to find information about companies or industries.  The Business Librarians at Business Library and Collaboration Commons have put together topic guides to assist in finding Company Information and Industry Information through the Texas A&M Libraries.

Citation Management Software

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and theses often contain information that has not been published elsewhere.  They also generally contain excellent literature reviews.  The sources below provide access to these resources, many of them in full text. 

Copyright

The Librarians in the Scholarly Communications Department of the Texas A&M Libraries have put together a topic guide on the use of Copyright, which provides guidance on the use of copyrighted materials in research, teaching, and publication, as well as managing your own rights as an author.

Howdy!

Bruce Neville, Industrial and Systems LibrarianWelcome to library research in Industrial and Systems Engineering.  This guide is intended to help you find library resources specifically aimed at research in the field.  I am Bruce Neville, the Industrial and Systems Engineering Librarian.  Please don't hesitate to call on me for questions related to library resources on the subject.  See the Author Profile on the left for how to reach me.

A&M Libraries in the Time of COVID

The Texas A&M Libraries have had to make changes in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.  Complete and up-to-date information on the Libraries' status can be found at our Coronavirus Library Service Updates and Resources page. 

What's still available:

  • Me!  As your Subject Librarian, I'm still available to help with your information, instruction, and other library needs.  Since I'm working from off-campus, the best way to reach me is by email.  I can set up meetings by Zoom.  
  • Electronic collections.  We received funding from the Provost (thank you!!) to greatly expand our journal backfiles, many of which have already been activated.  We also have many research monographs available electronically.  (Tip: add "online" to your search in LibCat.)
  • Get It For Me is able to get electronic loans only.  Service may take longer and some requests may not be possible to fill, as more libraries nationally face the same closures we have.
  • If you have checked out materials, they should automatically be renewed until May 8.  You can check the status on MyLibrary.  All new fines will be waived between now and May 8.

What's not available:

  • All Libraries buildings except the BLCC OAL lab are closed to walk-in traffic.
  • Access to physical collections is closed.
  • No materials are being checked in or checked out at this time.

 

Search for Journal Articles

Finding articles in the journal literature requires the use of indexing and abstracting databases.  The databases listed here are good for general searching in Industrial and Systems Engineering.  They are listed in increasing order of comprehensiveness.  For specialized topics or allied fields, see the Specialized Database tab.  The last tab lists some e-journal platforms with industrial and systems engineering content.

Some specialized and auxiliary databases that might be of use to industrial and systems engineers are linked here.  Coverage is given in a note, if not obvious from the name. 

Search for Books

Ebooks for Industrial and Systems Engineering

Writing Help