Wellness Dimension Research Databases - KINE 282 - Culture of Wellness (Fall 2025)

Research Databases

The following databases are recommended for your research project and are grouped based on the eight dimensions of wellness.

Keep in mind, no single database includes all journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc. Depending on your topic, you may need to use several databases to locate the information you need.

If you are accessing databases from off-campus you will be required to authenticate with your NetID and password.
When the full text of an article is not linked directly from the database (PDF or HTML link) click on the "Find Text @ TAMU" button for links to the full text.
Access to additional databases can be found by selecting the Databases button on the library homepage.
For help with identifying databases, schedule a research consultation with a librarian for one-on-one assistance.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's interface to MEDLINE, NLM's bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, healthcare administration, and the pre-clinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional biomedical journals not indexed by MEDLINE.
Global Health
**Note: This resource is limited to 4 simultaneous users.**
The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
* communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS)
* tropical diseases, i.e, diseases in the tropics (including field and experimental studies)
* parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology
* human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects)
* community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology)
* medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)

World Health Organization Countries
A list of countries that are members of WHO with information about health, nutrition, or mortality rate in each country.

ERIC (EBSCO)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains conference proceedings, technical reports and research analyses, dissertations, teaching guides, instructional materials, books, and government documents.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text contains access to articles from over 600 international, English language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks from 1982 to the present. It covers a wide range of topics, including all levels of education from Preschool to Adult, all subject areas taught in school, Educational Technology, School Administration, and Teacher Education.
Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) World Cultures
The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This multidisciplinary database provides comprehensive coverage for the environmental sciences including pollution of the land, air, water, noise, and solid waste; risk assessment; environmental engineering; and the United States' environmental impact statements. Sources include scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Ergonomics Abstracts
Ergonomics Abstracts is a focused, comprehensive, and international abstracting service, spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. Contains information on mainstream ergonomics and related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.

UN Environment Programme
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) is the leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system, and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment.

APA PsycInfo
Records spanning the 1880s to the present; covering journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences, including neuroscience titles. Includes citations and abstracts to articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, and selected dissertations.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and more. Full text to 470 journals. Included in Academic Search Complete.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Index of journals covering world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

APA PsycInfo
Records spanning the 1880s to the present; covering journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences, including neuroscience titles. Includes citations and abstracts to articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, and selected dissertations.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others. This database also includes full text for books and monographs, and full text for conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and more. Full text to 470 journals. Included in Academic Search Complete.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

World Happiness Report
The World Happiness Report is a landmark survey of the state of global happiness that ranks 156 countries by how happy their citizens perceive themselves to be. The World Happiness Report 2020 for the first time ranks cities around the world by their subjective well-being and digs more deeply into how the social, urban and natural environments combine to affect our happiness.

ABI/INFORM Complete
Includes articles from business periodicals, news sources, and scholarly research, covering a wide-range of business topics.
Business Source Ultimate
Includes full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business covering accounting, finance, banking, marketing, management and much more. Also includes case studies, country economic reports, company profiles, and interviews with executives and analysts.
EconLit with Full Text
Contains full text for journals including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives). This database also contains many non-English full-text journals in economics & finance. Volume and issue browsing is available for all full-text journals.

Emerald Insight
A business research tool that provides critical information when it is most needed. Access to articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
Vocational and Career Collection
Provides access to vocational and career information from trade and industry related periodicals and scholarly journals. Coverage dates back to 1985.
Vocational Studies Complete
Covers varied topics including: alcohol and drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer and data processing, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel and tourism, veterinary assisting, and dozens more.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
A full-text, scholarly database of journals in almost every academic discipline. Also includes videos from the Associated Press.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to electronic full-text journal articles and current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals around the world. It also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.