Example Education Systematic Reviews
- Interventions supporting baccalaureate achievement of Latinx STEM students matriculating at 2-year institutions: A systematic reviewStrengths of search reporting: Named databases and platforms, search strategy included subject terms, journal articles and grey literature eligible article types, and included full ERIC search strategy as appendix.
- Influences on User Engagement in Online Professional LearningStrengths of search reporting: Provided justification for date restriction, reported date search conducted, and included full search strings for all databases as supplemental material.
Weaknesses of search reporting: Did not include platform for all databases.
Example of how appraised the quality of both qualitative and quantitative articles. - Formative assessment and feedback for learning in higher education: A systematic reviewStrengths of search reporting: Included searching grey literature (dissertations and theses), described how searched Google Scholar, included full search string for database.
Weaknesses of search strategy: Did not state the platform for all databases searched and did not justify the date range for the search.
Example of how quality rating was used as inclusion criteria.
Example Education Scoping Reviews
- A scoping review of literature assessing the impact of the learning assistant modelStrengths of search reporting: Included the platform in list of databases, described forward citation searching, and provided exact search strategy
Weaknesses of search reporting: only searched for one phrase, limited search to two databases
Example of how to describe the scoping review methodology. - Grand Challenges as Educational Innovations in Higher Education: A Scoping Review of the LiteratureStrengths of search reporting: Provided methods description, included full search strategy, and searched for unpublished studies and grey literature
- A scoping review of digital game‑based technology on English language learningStrengths of search reporting: Included platform of all databases searched, provided justification for date range restriction, used subject terms in the search and included full search strategy.
Example of description of differences between scoping and other types of reviews.
Example Education Review of Reviews/Umbrella Reviews/Overviews
These are reviews that only include studies using review methodology. These can be titled "Review of Reviews," "Systematic Review of Systematic Reviews" or "Umbrella Reviews."
- A Systematic Review of Systematic Reviews on Blended Learning: Trends, Gaps and Future DirectionsStrengths of search reporting: Provided exact search string
Example of using AMSTAR quality assessment tool. - Use of Augmented and Virtual Reality in Remote Higher Education: A Systematic Umbrella ReviewStrengths of search reporting: Used PICOS approach to research question and included exact search strategy for databases.
- Revealing the hotspots of educational gamification: An umbrella reviewStrengths of search reporting: Included search strategies and included reviews from conferences, journal articles, and book chapters
Example Education Narrative Reviews
These examples vary in the amount of detail provided about the search methods. While some describe their search strategy and inclusion criteria, you will notice that the other steps of a systematic review (screening, quality appraisal) are missing.
- Trauma-Informed Practices in Schools: A Narrative Literature ReviewProvides justification for the use of narrative review methodology, describes different ways of searching, and states inclusion criteria for the review.
- Support from extended family in higher education: a narrative literature reviewCompares analysis and classification used in review to systematic review, describes literature search, and states inclusion criteria.
- Professional Ethics Education for Future Teachers: A Narrative Review of the Scholarly WritingsAuthors follow the traditional narrative review format and also indicate databases and keywords used in the search and explain how studies were selected.
- The Three Generations of Cultural Capital Research: A Narrative ReviewLengthy narrative review covering 30 years of literature, with authors describing databases and key terms searched and how they selected works.
- Why is Writing so Difficult for Students with Learning Disabilities? A Narrative Review to Inform the Design of Effective InstructionTraditional narrative review with no indication of databases searched, search strategy design, inclusion/exclusion criteria for article selection, quality appraisal, etc.
Review of Educational Research Methods Guidance
Books about Review Methods in Education
Systematic Reviews in Educational Research : Methodology, Perspectives and Application by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2020
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Call Number: LB1047.3 .B66 2016Publication Date: 2016
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780195326543Publication Date: 2008-02-13
