Systematic Reviews and Related Evidence Syntheses

YouTube Presentation by Margaret Foster

Pieces of Systematic Review: This set of YouTube videos covers all aspects of conducting a systematic review.

Find Existing Reviews

• Cochrane Library : Systematic reviews and meta-analysis of findings in the medical literature to supporting evidence-based practice in health care.
• Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database: A comprehensive database focused on evidence-based practice. Covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes systematic reviews and systematic review protocols.
• Prospero: an international registry of systematic reviews.

Search for Articles for Your Review

• PubMed link for Texas A&M University
• Embase (OVID): biomedical literature including conferences and conference abstracts
• CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO): nursing and allied health literature
• Northern Light Life Sciences Conference Abstracts (OVID): life sciences conference abstracts
• ERIC (EBSCO): if your review has an education component
• Web of Science: science and social science articles, conference papers in sciences and social sciences
• Social Science and Psychology Databases:
  • Social Sciences Full Text
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
  • Abstracts in Social Gerontology
  • AgeLine (AARP):  health sciences, psychology, sociology, economics, and public policy
  • APA PsychInfo

YouTube Presentation by Margaret Foster

Pieces of Systematic Review: This set of YouTube videos covers all aspects of conducting a systematic review.

Find Existing Reviews -- Veterinary Medicine

If you're seeking existing reviews, you can search the following veterinary and human (comparative) resources:

• BestBETs for Vets This link opens in a new window

  Supporting veterinary clinicians in making evidence-based decisions.
  Alternate titles: Best Bets for Vets
  Published by: Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine<

• VetSRev This link opens in a new window

  The database of systematic reviews in veterinary medicine and science.
  Published by: Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine

You Want to Begin Are Review -- Veterinary Medicine

• Determine your research questions using a methodology, like PICO
• Find the right type of review

Find Systematic Review Protocols -- Veterinary Medicine

Before you begin searching and selecting articles, decide the reasons you will include or exclude an article, including languages, date ranges, study types, article types, etc.

Protocols, like those below, might be helpful for you:

• Equator Network
• SYREAF -- Systematic Reviews for Animal and Food
• PROSPERO
• SYRCLE
• MOOSE
• PRISMA
• PRISMA-P

Find Articles for Your Review -- Veterinary Medicine

The databases you search and resources you will hand search to find articles depends on your question, protocol, and inclusion/exclusion criteria.

Depending on your topic, you may also need to search education, communication, engineering, etc., databases. This is a good conversation to have with your partner librarian.

These are some databases to search for in veterinary medicine:

• MEDLINE (New PubMed) This link opens in a new window

  National Library of Medicine's interface to MEDLINE, NLM's bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, healthcare administration, and the pre-clinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional biomedical journals not indexed by MEDLINE.
  Published by the National Center for Biotechnology Information

• MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window

  The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
  Published by: Ovid Technologies, Inc.

• CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window

  The major resource for agriculture, veterinary medicine, and forestry in the world: agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, animal health, natural resources.
  Alternate titles: Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International abstracts
  Published by: Ovid Technologies, Inc.

• CAB Direct This link opens in a new window

  CAB Direct helps you to find the most relevant, up-to-date and reliable information in the applied life sciences.
  Incorporating the leading bibliographic databases, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, CAB Direct provides access to these key resources directly from CABI Publishing.
  Alternate titles: CABDirect; CABIDirect; Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux International direct
  Published by: CAB International

• EMBASEThis link opens in a new window

  EMBASE provides access to over 24 million indexed records, more than 7,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals and over 2,000 biomedical titles not currently offered by MEDLINE. It also contains almost 800 conferences, and more than 260,000 conference abstracts.
  Published by: Ovid Technologies, Inc.