Research Guides: Political Science: Maps &amp; Geographical Info

Helpful guides for GIS and Maps

Map Resources
by David Hubbard Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 0 views this year
Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
by David Hubbard Last Updated Dec 11, 2024 277 views this year
GIS Data Sources
by David Hubbard Last Updated Dec 5, 2024 49 views this year

Political & historic maps

U.S. Serial Set & Maps Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
The high resolution optional maps module of the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection allows access to color and high resolution versions of the maps indexed in the U.S. Serial Set Index and Carto-Bibliography of Maps. The maps contained within the U.S. Serial Set represent one of the greatest single collections of cartographic materials of the United States. From the exploration of the American West to the Parisian defenses during the Crimean War, the Serial Set carto-bibliographic records allow unprecedented access to the 55,000+ maps of the Serial Set.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of cities and towns which were created to assist fire insurance companies assess risk. The maps show structural details and include street naming and numbering used at the time the map was made. The library's collection includes maps from Texas cities and towns spanning the 19th to mid-20th century.

CIA Maps
Declassified maps from the Central Intelligence Agency dating back to the 1940s.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Online map collection covering the world, countries, states, cities, etc. from the University of Texas at Austin. Includes historic and modern maps.
National Map (USGS)
High-quality, geospatial data and information from the USGS as well as other federal, state, and local partners. It includes orthoimagery, elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.
Mapping History
Provides interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics.

Geospatial data

Social Science Statistical Laboratory This link opens in a new window
Serves as a center for information, research and quantitative analysis. We provide in-depth consulting for data management, statistical software, quantitative methods, data resources, geospatial resources and analysis, and the emerging technologies in support of interdisciplinary scholarship.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
A directory database of U.S. businesses. Searches include company name, business size, corporate linkages, SIC / NAICS, and geographic information.
Business Analyst Online This link opens in a new window
BAO uses GIS technology to allow the user to map and find information on demographics, consumer spending, and business data for the entire U.S. User can perform drive-time analysis, analyze trade areas, evaluate sites, and identify customers, specific market segments, and their preferred media and communication choices. Also includes Tapestry Segmentation data.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is dedicated to providing easy access to demographic information about the United States.
It includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States, including historical data back to 1940.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that can be used to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 100,000+ data variables. Although students & faculty are not required to log in with a username and password, it is recommended if they wish to save their work.