Skip to main content

Research Guides

Pharmacy: Key Information Resources

Clinical Pharmacology

The Texas A&M University Medical Sciences Library provides RCOP users with a subscription to online and mobile-app access to Clinical Pharmacology, which can be accessed in two ways:

     A: Clinical Pharmacology (online).
          A1: In your web browser, visit the above library link.
          A2: Authenticate with your NetID.
          A3: Authenticate with DUO.

     B: Clinical Pharmacology (mobile app).
          B1: In your web browser, visit the above library link.
          B2: Authenticate with your NetID.
          B3: Authenticate with DUO.
          B4: If you have already created a personal CP account, select the Login link.
          B5: If you have not created a personal CP account, select the Register link, and complete the registration form.
          B6: Install the Clinical Pharmacology app on your mobile device.
          B7: Login to the CP app with your personal account and save your credentials on your mobile device.

Note: Attempting to access the web version of Clinical Pharmacology via the library link outside of the TAMU network may fail, as some businesses do not have the port open to communicate with the EZProxy server. The app may be more reliable to access in a business setting because it does not require communication with the EZProxy server. The app may require you to authenticate your NetID every 90 days to renew your app subscription.

Epocrates

Epocrates can be accessed in two ways:

     A: Epocrates (online).
          A1: In your web browser, visit the above library link.
          A2: Authenticate with your NetID.
          A3: Authenticate with DUO.

     B: Epocrates (mobile app).
          B1: In your web browser, visit the above link.

          B2: Register for an account. The form should have a pharmacy student option.

          B3: Download the Epocrates app and login with your Epocrates account.

Note: The MSL provides app access to TAMHSC students only. AthenaHealth, the publishers of Epocrates, no longer include staff / faculty app access through the MSL subscription.

Lexicomp

The Texas A&M University Medical Sciences Library provides RCOP users with a subscription to Lexicomp, which can be accessed in two ways:

     A: Lexicomp (online).
          A1: In your web browser, visit the above library link.
          A2: Authenticate with your NetID.
          A3: Authenticate with DUO.

     B: The Lexicomp (mobile app).
          B1: In your web browser, visit the above library link.
          B2: Authenticate with your NetID.
          B3: Authenticate with DUO.
          B4: Create a personal Wolters Kluwer user account here.
          B5: Enter your personal subscription code.
          B6: Here are instructions for Lexicomp mobile app installation.
          B7: Once you have installed the Lexicomp mobile app, login to it with your Wolters Kluwer credentials.
          B8: In the app, select the databases you want to install, and select Update.

Notes:
• 
The MSL suggests using a personal email address to sign up for your Lexicomp account. Your MSL subscription provides only 1 device to be synced to your account at a time.

• Attempting to access the web version of Lexicomp via the library link outside of the TAMU network may fail, as some businesses do not have the port open to communicate with the EZProxy server. The app may be more reliable to access in a business setting because it does not require communication with the EZProxy server.

• If you experience an error authenticating with EZProxy or DUO after selecting the library link, your browser cache may need to be cleared to reset authentication. Here are instructions for clearing the caches for Internet Explorer (cookies)Internet Explorer (history cache)Firefox; and Chrome.

• Updates may take some time, depending upon the database(s) selected, the connection speed, and the speed of your device's memory.

• The app may require you to authenticate your NetID every 90 days to renew your app subscription.

Micromedex

Access to Micromedex no longer requires an individual password. There are two ways to access Micromedex:

     A: Micromedex (online).
          A1: In your browser, visit the above library link.

          A2: Authenticate with your NetID.

          A3: Authenticate with DUO.

     B: Micromedex (mobile apps).
     There are three Micromedex apps compatible with Apple, Android, and Windows devices:

          • Free Micromedex Drug Reference for Internet Subscribers.

          • Micromedex Drug Interactions.

          • Micromedex IV Compatibility.

     To install these mobile Micromedex apps:
          B1: In your browser, visit the above library link.

          B2: Navigate to Download Center (top right).

          B3: Follow the instructions for installing each app.

Note: The instructions will include a passcode for each app. These passcodes will only display if you access Micromedex via a TAMHSC network, and may change every few months. Please do not share the login and password information with anyone outside the College of Pharmacy.

UpToDate

The Texas A&M University Medical Sciences Library provides RCOP users with a subscription to online and mobile-app access to UpToDate (UTD), which can be accessed in two ways:

A: UpToDate (online).
     A1: In your web browser, visit the above library link.
     A2: Authenticate with your NetID.
     A3: Authenticate with DUO.

B: UpToDate (mobile app).
     B1: In your web browser, visit the above library link.
     B2: Authenticate with your NetID.
     B3: Authenticate with DUO.

     B4: Create a personal UpToDate account. Fill out and submit the UTD registration form.

     B5: On your mobile device, install the UpToDate mobile app.

     B6: Login to the mobile app using your personal UpToDate account.

uCentral (Unbound Medicine)

Set up access from HSC or TAMU wifi network
or see the uCentral FAQ on app access.
Mobile access to:

  • 5-minute clinical consult
  • Bates' pocket guide to physical examination
  • Davis's laboratory and diagnostic tests
  • EE+ POEM archive
  • Harriet Lane handbook
  • The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide
  • Osler medicine survival guide
  • Pocket guide to diagnostic tests
  • Taylor's clinical nursing skills handbook
  • Washington manual of medical therapeutics