Textbook (4th & 3rd ed.)
Linking Theory to Practice by ISBN: 9781351762120Publication Date: 2017.
4th edition- Currently 1 access per person.
Framed by an overview of theories that guide student affairs practice, the cases in this book present a challenging array of problems that student affairs and higher education personnel face on campus, such as racial diversity, alcohol abuse, and student activism. This revised fourth edition contains 20 new cases reflecting current campus issues, including identity, study abroad, social media, bullying, housing and food insecurity, student activism, and other perennial campus issues. An excellent teaching tool, this book provides a comprehensive and realistic set of challenges to prepare aspiring student affairs professionals for the increasingly complex college environment. Features include: A structure that sets the stage for case study methods and links student affairs theory with practical applications. Cases written by well-known and respected contributors set in a wide variety of institution types and locations. Over 35 complex case studies reflecting the multifaceted issues student affairs professionals face in today's college environment.
Adult Learning by ISBN: 9781118419106Publication Date: 2013-09-03.
3rd edition - Unlimited access.
Solidly grounded in theory and research, but concise and practice-oriented, Adult Learning: Linking Theory and Practice is perfect for master's-level students and practitioners alike. Sharan Merriam and Laura Bierema have infused each chapter with practical applications for instruction which will help readers personally relate to the material. The contents covers: Adult Learning in Today's World Traditional Learning Theories Andragogy Self-Directed Learning Transformative Learning Experience and Learning Body and Spirit in Learning Motivation and Learning The Brain and Cognitive Functioning Adult Learning in the Digital Age Critical Thinking and Critical Perspectives Culture and Context Discussion questions and activities for reflection are included at the end of each chapter.
Note: The 4th edition currently allows only one access per person. The 3rd edition allows unlimited access.
Key Databases
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowprovides access to more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles from 1966 to the present.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowa full-text, scholarly database of more than 8,500 journals (7,300 peer-reviewed) in almost every academic discipline.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window1880s to the present; covering roughly 2,500 journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences, including over 200 neuroscience titles. 99% of the journals are peer reviewed.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary archive of digitized scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and general and biological sciences but continues to grow.
- Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new windowEducation: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 36 journals published by Sage and participating societies, encompassing over 45,000 articles. Subject areas include, but are not limited to, Assessment, Curriculum, Educational Administration, International Education, Multicultural Education, Teaching Methods, and Early Childhood through Higher Education.
Database Searching Strategies
Breaking a Search Query into 2 or 3 Concepts
- Looking for articles about online military learners. Break it into 3 main search terms: online > veterans > learning
Boolean Connector: OR
- Use OR and synonyms to get more hits. For example, adult education OR adult learning OR andragogy
Boolean Connector: AND
- Use AND to combine all concepts. For example, adult education AND (online OR distance education)
- Comparing the following two search queries. The 2nd one may yield more and better results.
adult learning AND online AND veterans
------------------- vs -------------------
adult education or andragogy or adult learning or lifelong learning
AND
veterans or military or soldiers or servicemen
AND
online or virtual or distance education
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title / Abstract Searchable Fields
- You can limit one of the concept term(s) to Title or Abstract field especially when you have too many hits or you want to filter out the not-so-related articles quickly.
> Limit to TITLE = My search terms must appear in the Title of the articles.
> Limit to ABSTRACT = My Search terms must appear in the summaries of the articles.
Sample Topic: Looking for theories on adult learning motivation. You may limit the "motivation" concept to the Title field.
adult education or adult learning
AND
theory or theories or model or framework
AND
motivation [Limit to Title]
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Use Google's "Related Articles" link to find the related articles, or use the "City By" link to find the related and newer papers that have cited a particular paper. This is a quick way to find the related literature.
- A Sample Search using GOOGLE SCHOLAR: adult education theory to practice
- Those entries with higher numbers in their "Cited by" links are the ones cited most. Use these links to find the related and newer studies. You could also use the 'Related Articles" to fulfill the same purpose.
- Click on the double arrows icon under each entry >> or the full text links on the left to get full text provided by TAMU Library.
- TIPS: You can ask Google Scholar to insert a RefWorks link for quick citing. Go to Settings>Bibliography Manager > Replace BibTeX with RefWorks> Save. As a result, each paper retrieved will bear an Import to RefWorks link. You can quickly into an article entry into your RefWorks account with one click.