Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

HIST 481-Sex, Drugs, and Rock 'n Roll: Writing the History of the Sixties-Prof. Elizabeth Cobbs (Spring 2021)

Cushing Collections

Inventoried and/or Processed Collections with Finding Guides

The Battalion-magazines, newspapers, and resources related to TAMU.

Charles Levy Civil Rights Collection-Nearly 1000 items related to the civil rights movement from 1955-1975.

Citizens' Fellowship Papers,1958-1966-Integration of public schools that includes A&M Consolidated Independent School District.

Eldridge Cleaver Collection - Fully Processed, 1959-1981

Don Kelly Research Collection on Gay History and Culture-an 12000+ collection of books, serials, manuscripts, and posters that document the LGBTQ community nationally and internationally. The collection is housed in Cushing Memorial Library & Archives, but you can access the Kelly collection via LibraryThing.com, an open-source website.

Alex Haley Archive - Fully Processed, 1949-1965, 1967, 1991

Intended for All-women's history at Texas A&M University

In Fulfillment of a Dream Exhibit Collection-exhibit on African Americans at TAMU.

Kevin Bailey Collection, 1976-1990-TAMU Gay Student Services Organization and the campus attitudes toward the LGBT community.

Miscellaneous Small Collections, 1688-2009

Political and Radical Ephemera Collection-political documents of civil rights and radical movements.

Terry Anderson Oral History Collection-interviews with people all across A&M and Texas, including discussions with women and individuals involved in the civil rights movement and the Vietnam era.

Earl Rudder Papers, The James Earl Rudder Papers (1918-2001 (bulk: 1944-1970)) are arranged into nine series, the first seven roughly corresponding to the chronology of James Earl Rudder's life,

Tom and Tom Collection, 1972-1990-GLBT community at Texas A&M University, in the Brazos Valley, and the US.

University Archives, The University Archives was established in 1950 to collect, process, preserve, and provide access to all records of Texas A&M University which have administrative, fiscal, legal, or historical value.

Unprocessed or only inventories available

Archon Resources-Link to other collections to use for projects.‚Äč

Databases