Skip to main content

Research Guides

LGBTQ+ Resources

Panic Button

Click this link to leave this site and immediately be redirected. If you are in danger, call 911.

Leave this site

Librarian

Bruce Neville's picture
Bruce Neville
Contact:
Evans Library 110A
979-845-7572

Librarian

Chance Medlin's picture
Chance Medlin
Contact:
Evans Annex 424B
979.862.2817
Website

Chat With Us


Howdy!

Bruce Neville, Reference Librarian Welcome to library research in LGBT+ Studies.  This guide is intended to help you find library resources specifically aimed at research in the field.  I am Bruce Neville, a Librarian at Evans Library.  Please don't hesitate to call on me for questions related to library resources in LGBT+ Studies.  See the Author Profile on the left for how to reach me.

 

A&M Libraries in the Time of COVID

The Texas A&M Libraries have had to make changes in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.  Complete and up-to-date information on the Libraries' status can be found at our Coronavirus Library Service Updates and Resources page. 

What's still available:

  • Me!  As your Subject Librarian, I'm still available to help with your information, instruction, and other library needs.  Since I'm working from off-campus, the best way to reach me is by email.  I can set up meetings by Zoom.  
  • Libraries, except the Evans Annex, are now open with limited occupancy.  Check here for hours and current occupancy.  The Cushing and Medical Science Libraries require reservations.
  • Electronic collections.  We received funding from the Provost (thank you!!) to greatly expand our journal backfiles, many of which have already been activated.  We also have many research monographs available electronically.  (Tip: add "online" to your search in LibCat.)
  • Get It For Me is able to get electronic loans only.  Service may take longer and some requests may not be possible to fill, as more libraries nationally face the same closures we have.
  • Electronic reserves are available.  Login here, or faculty may request scanning of materials for reserve here.

What's not available:

  • Access to physical collections is closed.  Please continue to use Get It For Me to request items for pickup.
  • Movies, sound, laptops, and other media are not available for checkout at this time.  Many movies are available through online services.
  • Paper reserves are not available for Fall 2020.  Electronic reserves are available.  Login here, or faculty may request scanning of materials for reserve here.

 

Finding Journal Articles

Finding articles in the journal literature requires the use of indexing and abstracting databases.  The databases listed here are good for LGBT+ studies.  

Gender & Ethnic Studies Collections at Cushing Library

Cushing Memorial Library is home to extensive collections in Gender and Ethnic Studies, including the Don Kelly Research Collection of Gay Literature and Culture.  For more information, use the link below to be directed to their page.

Other Research Materials

The resources listed here are important research materials, aside from peer-reviewed journal articles.  The Archives of Sexuality and Gender contains important primary material.  PAIS indexes "gray literature" on Public Affairs.  CQ Researcher provides pro and con commentary on social issues.

Act Up Oral History Project. Oral interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.

Search for Books

LGBT+ Book Awards

Campus Resources