Research Guides: Company Research: Financials

Financial Information

Financial data provides a key measure of the strength, stability, and soundness of a company. Disclosure requirements make it possible to find copious amounts of financial data for publicly-traded companies. Be aware that, if you are researching a private company, financial data is usually not available.

Best Bets

Mergent Online
Provides information on company history and highlights, executives, ownership, financial, filings and more. Mergent’s archive can provide 15 years or more of downloadable balance sheet, income statement, cash flow, retained earnings, and ratio data. Balance sheet, income statement, cash flow, retained earnings, and ratio data can be found under "Company Financials".
Segment data, long term debt, and capital stock details can be found under the "Company Details" tab. Annual reports and SEC documents can be found under the "Reports" and "Filings" tabs, respectively.
The "Competitors" tab will generate a spreadsheet of key financials of companies within an industry.
Tip: Search for a company and open the company's page.
PrivCo
Private company reports, including financials as well as M&A and venture capital. Depending on the size of the company, can find information on income statements.

Additional Resources

Intelligize
Search, retrieve, and analyze SEC filings, agreements, and exhibits. Access statutes, rules, regulations, and other materials pertinent to US Capital markets. View over 230,000 deal-related documents and transactions including private and foreign offerings.
Orbis
This resource requires Internet Explorer
A global product that integrates information held across BvDEP's company information product range. ORBIS includes full searching facilities and global standard report format for in-depth international searching and analysis. ORBIS has information on over 57 million companies.
Key Business Ratios
Provides competitive benchmarking data from Dun & Bradstreet's database and key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios).
Alternate titles: KBR ;
Published by: Mergent, Inc.

Big Charts
This commercial sources supplies a easy-to-use online charting and investment research websites providing access to interactive charts, quotes, reports and indicators on over 50,000 stocks, mutual funds, market indexes, and historical quotes back to 1985.
EDGAR
Provides 10-K, 20-F, proxy statements, some annual reports, and other financial statements of public companies filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
Bloomberg Terminals
The Bloomberg Terminals has real-time and historic data on publicly traded companies from around the world. It contains company profiles, analyst recommendations, relative valuation, and earnings and estimates.
Note: Bloomberg Terminals can only be accessed via the Terminals on the first floor of Business Library and Collaboration Commons. Ask the Help Desk to log you in to the computer. New users will need to create an individual account to access the Bloomberg interface. Bloomberg is a command-line interface, and is not as user-friendly as some of the resources at the top of this list. First-time users are encouraged to contact a business librarian to learn more about Bloomberg.