Skip to main content

Research Guides

Educational Psychology

Responsibilities of Test Users

These resources provide information on ethical standards for the use of test and other measurement instruments, including academic, research, and professional practice settings.

Finding Reviews (Commercial Tests & Measures)

Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print merged into one database providing a description and reviews for commercial tests and measures. Full text of commercial tests & measures can be purchased from publishers (with appropriate credentials) and are sometimes appended (with prior permission from the copyright holder) to book chapters, journal articles, or dissertations as part of a research study.

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO) 
    Provides a description, validity and reliability data, and two full-text critiques/reviews for each commercial,standardized test instrument and measurement scale described in the database. Tests are classified into 18 areas such as educational skills, intelligence, aptitude, personality, and achievement. Descriptions Include: administration time, intended test population, price, publication date, acronym, author(s), publisher, and test purpose (what is being measured). MMY includes content from all of the print Yearbooks, 1938 through current. 

Finding Full-Text (Commercial & Non-Commercial Tests)

Commercial test or measurement instruments are not purchased by TAMU Libraries.  These have undergone extensive testing to achieve high validity and reliability measures and are kept under tight control.  Publishers protect access by selling copies to practicing psychologists or other qualified professionals only.  You will find "some" commercial tests (either in part or whole) appended to dissertations, books, or scholarly journal articles because researchers have obtained permission in advance from the test author or copyright holder (sometimes the publisher) prior to use and publication.  

Non-commercial tests & measures can also be found by searching databases for journal articles that describe test development and validity and reliability.

Graduate students needing access to test instruments for research purposes should:

1.  Search databases for tests appended to or published in dissertations, journal articles, or books
2.  Check the ETS Test Collection database - description and availability for over 25,000 tests & measures ($25 download fee)
2.  Contact the test author to request a copy
3.  Contact the publisher to purchase a copy 

Keep in mind that if you wish to alter an original test or other measurement instrument for use in your thesis/dissertation or publication, you must first seek permission to do so from the test author or copyright holder.  Merely citing the instrument is not sufficient.  See Responsibilities of Test Users section.

Databases

These databases can be used to find both commercial and non-commercial tests and other measurement instruments appended to dissertations, journal articles, or in books.  See specific techniques for searching each database below to find the full text of the instruments.  ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is the database that usually yields the best results for commercial tests.

  • PsycINFO (EBSCO)
    Do a search for the test name you are looking for AND the term appended within the Tests & Measures field (change the default option in the drop-down menu from "Select a Field (optional)" to "TM Tests & Measures" at the end of the search box. If the test was appended to an article, you will get results for your search.
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    Do a search for the test name and select "Tests/Questionnaires" from the list of options for Publication Type (found below the main search boxes in the "Limit your results" section.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
    Search for the test name within the Abstract field (change the default option at the end of the search box from "Anywhere except full text" to "Abstract"). If a test was used in the dissertation research, it will usually be mentioned in the Abstract. Test instruments will be listed in the Methods and Appendix sections of the Table of Contents (check the dissertation PDF). If test is provided, authors will usually include it as an Appendix.
  • ETS Test Collection
    Educational Testing Service (ETS)Test Collection contains descriptions and availability for over 25,000 test instruments and measures from early 1900 - present. Many are available for $25 download fee. You must contact the copyright holder for tests without an e-order field.
  • SDSU Test Finder
    Free database produced by San Diego State University (SDSU). Search for the test name. If found, you will get citations to books & journal articles where the test (or portion of the test) has been published. Check our library holdings to see if we own the book or subscribe to the journal. If not, you can request a copy using our Get it For Me service.