Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

HIST481: Feminisms of Color-Professor Sarah McNamara (Spring 2020)

African American

Angela Davis Collection-This collection contains the correspondence, postcards, handmade cards, notes, and drawings sent to Angela Davis while she was imprisoned awaiting trial in California. These cards and correspondence are in response to a solidarity campaign of support called "A Million Roses for Angela Davis" started in East Germany. Some of the postcards are addressed to Marin County Courthouse in California and others are addressed to the United National Committee to Free Angela Davis in New York. 

Gwendolyn A. Fortune Papers-Dr. Fortune was an educator and writer.  She taught Social Science and Ethnic Studies at colleges and universities in Illinois and North Carolina. A classically trained soprano Fortune performed in the US and Europe. She authored two books and presented papers widely.  Her papers include radio programs, videos of her concert performances, academic papers, research and correspondence from a listserv dedicated to Dr. Fortune that includes exchanges between her and friends. 

Berenice Napper Archives- New York NAACP Field Worker and founding member of the Connecticut Branch of the National Council of Negro Women-Collection consists of photographs, letters, newspaper clippings, and writings.  The collection contains the correspondence, photographs, various collected writings ranging from her involvement with the NAACP and the National Council for Negro Women.

Latin/X and Chicanx

LGBTQ+

Don Kelly Research Collection on Gay History and  Culture-a  12000+ collection of books, serials, manuscripts, and posters that document the LGBTQ community nationally and internationally. The collection is housed in Cushing Memorial Library & Archives, but you can access the Kelly collection via LibraryThing.com, an open-source website.

Women's & Gender Studies Collections:

Harriette Andreadis Women's Studies Research Collection and Personal Archive-TAMU retired Professor and founder of Women's Studies-papers include her research, the early history of Women's and Gender Studies, and extensive book collection.

Women's and Gender Studies at TAMU-mostly the files of Prof. Andreadis, but also more contemporary files on the interdisciplinary department.

Judge Phyllis R. Frye-The papers of Judge Frye cover her (mostly public) life. They span her time as a member of the Texas A&M University (TAMU) Corps of Cadets as Phillip Frye, an undergraduate, through her transition to Phyllis in the 1970s in Houston, Texas. The papers span her activism through the 2010s and her career.

David Drake papers

Vintage Photographs

Unprocessed or only inventories available

Antonio La Pastina and Dale Rice Collection-TAMU Professor in Communications-collection includes books, serials, postcards, media, and other Ephemera related to LGBTQ communities both nationally and internationally.

Arden Eversmeyer-The collection of Ms. Eversmeyer is mostly books, serials, audio, and video resources. Ms. Eversmeyer is the founder of the Old Lesbian Oral History Project.

Mark Sieling/John Algor Book and Music Album Collection-Leading bibliophile/collector/scholar on gay books and gay authors and their relationships with each other.

Sharon Stuart/Tom Heitz Paper-transgender activist and lawyer.

Other Feminists Papers

Christine Rosetti Letters-housed in our Rare collections

Lisa Tuttle Papers-housed in the SF/Fantasy collections