Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

COMM/WGST 407.901: Women, Minorities and Mass Media-Prof. Srividya Ramasubramanian (Spring 2019)

Archival Resources

TAMU Cushing Memorial Library & Archives Resources
Africana Studies Collections
Hispanic Studies Collections
Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)

Inventoried and/or Processed Collections with Finding Guides

Don Kelly Research Collection on Gay History and Culture-a 12000+ collection of books, serials, manuscripts, and posters that document the LGBTQ community nationally and internationally. The collection is housed in Cushing Memorial Library & Archives, but you can access the Kelly collection via LibraryThing.com, an open source website.

The Yolanda Broyles-Gonzalez and Francisco González Archive, 1958-2007-A rich borderlands Mexican-American collection with a focus on performance arts, theater, German literature, Chicano films, and music.

Media Fanzine Collection-fan-produced publications that document fan groups for movies, televisions, and science fiction and fantasy.

Unprocessed or only inventories available

Harriette Andreadis Women's Studies Research Collection and Personal Archive-TAMU retired Professor and founder of Women's Studies-papers include her research, the early history of Women's and Gender Studies, and extensive book collection.

Antonio La Pastina and Dale Rice Collection-TAMU Professor in Communications-collection includes books, serials, postcards, media and other Ephemera related to LGBTQ communities both nationally and internationally.

Finding Articles

Books and Tips

Search Tips

  • Browse by subject headings 
    • Enter Caribbean in the window marked Search and Subject headings browse in the window marked Choose a search type.
  • Search by subject headings
    • Enter “Caribbean” and your topical keyword(s) in the Search window and change the search type to Subject headings keyword.
  • Advanced Search
    • You can limit your search to things such as by language of publication.
    • Your results list will be in relevancy order, but you can resort it by Author, Title or Publish Date (newest first or oldest first).