Skip to main content

Research Guides

SOCI 315/603/445W/629 Food Insecurity Issues Spring 2020

How to Use This Guide

This library guide aims to help those taking courses exploring food insecurity issues. The courses will investigate food insecurity in the context of families, community, religion, immigration, law, cultures, gender, race or other related fields.

Each tab on the left focuses on ONE sub-disciplinary area. If you wonder which tab to use to look for articles on a given topic, just start with Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) because this database covers multiple disciplinary areas.  To look for books, ebook, DVDs or other materials, use Libcat.tamu.edu (TAMU Library's online catalog).  To look for the required materials placed in eReserve at Library Annex, please follow this Course Reserve link to log in. If you have any questions, try ASKUS (with access points to chat, email, FAQs and subject librarian referral).

About Textbooks. Each course has several required textbooks. Only the titles available online are being listed on this guide. Click on the tab on the left to find them. Some of them / book chapters may be available in the Course Reserve Desk located on the first floor, Library Annex or they may have been uploaded to eCampus under the assigned areas. The text of some of the required readings may also be obtainable through Google Scholar.

Key Databases

Search TIP

 

If you are looking for articles about COMMUNITY AND SOCIAL CONNECTEDNESS.

Step (1) Break the topic into 2~3 main concept terms: COMMUNITY / SOCIAL CONNECTEDNESS
Step (2) Find synonyms for each and then use the OR connector to string them together:
              COMMUNITY or NEIGHBORHOOD and SOCIAL CONNECTEDNESS OR SOCIAL BELONGING

Finding a Topic (suggested terms)

Communities
community, social structure, social experience, social interaction, social belonging, social-economic structure, neighborhoods--social aspect, neighborhood institutions, community as an institution, cornerstones of everyday relationship, social cohesion, connection, social connection theories, community gardens, community garden programs/projects/initiatives, community development, social process, urban agriculture, civic agriculture, gardening practice, fresh food, public health

Food Security
food security, food insecurity, food safety, food supply, food banks, American food relief, charities, public welfare, hunger, famine, starvation, malnutrition, shortage, adequate, availability, international cooperation on food security, food security measures, food service, food service management, food service sanitation, food service statistics, food service education, food service laws, food security government policies, social policy, social service--government policy, child welfare -- government policy, welfare policy, food portions, food serving, food spoilage, food stamp fraud, food stamp fraud laws, poor laws, social legislation, food standards, food storage, food studies, food supply and environment, income maintenance program, meals on wheels programs, food assistance program, food distribution program, milk program, food coupons,

Families
marriage, engagement, divorce, family formation, courtship, conflict, parents, children, child rearing, siblings, clans, single-parent families, youth--family relationship, family--social aspects, family--social conditions, family structure, financial, households, kinship, marital status, work-life balance, domestic relations, inequality, social institutions, social functions, social norms, social structure, social systems, social institutions, broken homes, crime victims--family relationships, dependents, divorce--social aspect, dual-career families, dysfunctional families, extended families, families of gay men, families of military personnel, families of people with disabilities, family roles, family size, family communication, immigrant families, minority families, juvenile delinquents--family relationships, middle class families, mentally ill--family relationships, only child, parent-family relationship, poor families, refugee families, rural families, upper class families, veteran's families, work and families, working class families, family values, Hispance American families

Immigration
population, demography, demographic surveys, census, vital statistics, race, gender, immigrants, emigration & immigration--social aspect, emigration & immigration--economic aspect, country of origin, human migrations, human settlements, labor mobility, social status, transnational, border control, citizenship, immigrant families, immigration law, immigration policy, chain migration, human geography, social networks, cultural geography, political geography, population geography, cohort analysis, demographic anthropology, family demography, housing, Latin Americans, mortality, population psychology

Race
race, ethnicity, people of color, racial minorities, Latino Americans, Blacks, black men, black young men, black youth, African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Hispanic American families, Asian, Indians, demographic characteristics, population, ethnicity, gender, race awareness, race discrimination, racial bias, racism in the press, race discrimination -- government policy, race discrimination -- law & legislation, racism in literature, Antisemitism, Affirmative action, race relations, prejudices, institutional racism, critical race theory

Gender
women, females, men, male, housewives, single women, women of color, working class women, abuse of women, social conditions of women, demographic characteristics, population, ethnicity, gender, race, gender difference (sociology), gender identity, identity (psychology), transgender, transsexual, sexual orientation, bisexual, gender role, femininity, feminine identity, femininity in mass media, gender inequality, gender stereotype, masculinity, male privilege, men -- social conditions, sexism, attitude (psychology), social perception, heterosexism, sexism in communication/education/mass media/health service/religion/military/

 

Finding Full Text

When You Use a Database

  • RECOMMENDED. Select "Full Text" under Limit To, only the full-text articles will be retrieved.
  • Most of the articles retrieved will have a pdf link. Click on the link or follow the link to get it.

When You Have a Title

  •  The easiest way is to use Google Scholar to search for the title. The full-text link may be displayed next to the result. Note: you may need to log in with your TAMU netid to get the text.

Course Reserve / eCAMPUS

  • Some of the required texts may be placed in Course Reserve at Library Annex. You must check them out yourself. The materials from Course Reserve is loaned for 4 hours only. Some other materials may have already uploaded on eCampus under the assigned areas. Some of the required texts (book chapters or articles) may be available on Google Scholar.